We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star quality Barn converstion in a lovely quite...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The South Barn

Open plan, contemporary living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan, contemporary living
Modern kitchen and furniture Double bedroom with feature wall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Open plan, contemporary living
Modern kitchen and furniture
Double bedroom with feature wall
Enjoy a bath, in one of the double bedrooms
Double bedroom
For the kids
Wet room with drench shower
Arrive to a welcome pack of local goodies, including a home-made cake
Surf's up
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portmellon Cove, Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star quality Barn converstion in a lovely quite setting”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the South Barn for a short break over Easter of 4 days. We were very pleasantly surprised to find the accomodation so much better than we expected from the photographs - we expected nice we got wow!

The welcome pack was marvelous and we were chilling out very quickly with a bottle of Cornish wine and lemon drizzle cake. So quite and nice and dark at night so you can see the stars - patio area - there are two! for when the sun moves - you can't fault it.

A lovely walk close by into the woods and fields and not so far if you want to walk into Mevagissy but we were not that adventurous - very handy for the lost gardens of babilon - I mean Heligan. and so many nice restuarants locally we were spoiled.

Everything was above our expectations.

We did not want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quality of accomodation
Liked least: The lack of a shaving mirror in the wet room - minor problem only
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How homely it was - we settled in very quickly!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IrelandLi...
County Donegal, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow! This place is amazing”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The south barn is just amazing. It is finished to such a high standard and the attention to detail is impressive. The living area is huge with everything you'd need. I just wish it was cool at night so we could use the log burner ;) The bedrooms and bathrooms were great. Comfy beds and just really quaint. The chocolate brownies and welcome pack were so nice. A pleasant surprise.
I really can't find fault with the south barn. I would highly recommend and hope to return soon. It is in a great location although driving through Mevagissy is not for the faint hearted :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martigues, France
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing