We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmellon Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Valley Cottage
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband and I felt priveleged to stay at Valley Cottage. Lovely peaceful location. The accommodation was beautifully furnished, spacious and relaxing. The breakfasts were superb, whatever you wanted and special diets catered for. Sue and Mike are so lovely and helpful. Sue even took us to the doctor when Peter was unwell. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
45
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We were very lucky to book into Valley cottage, we rang everywhere on the monday evening and managed to find this little gem we stayed in the loft room where it was very private away and made you feel like you were away from the house.

We arrived at about lunch time as we didnt want to risk losing a day as we were only on a 3 day break. We arrived and hadn't even checked with Sue and Mike at what time we could arrive. They were straight away very welcoming and let us leave our bags in the room as they were ' cleaning' the room from the previous customers - even seeing the room at this point both myself and Leigh commented on how nice it was and wondered what they were going to do to make it look even more lovely than what it was. Before even leaving we had, had a quick chat and Sue and Mike rang through to a local restaurant and organised for us to have dinner their the next night at the Salamanda, they gave us a national trust book ( if you have one remember to take it as i forgot mine) sue recommended (http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/lanhydrock/) it was a day when the weather was a mixture and worked out perfectly as by the time we had done our visit of the house, the weather had cleared and it was blue skies so we wondered the gardens and headed back to the cottage.

On our return you can see they have so much passion for being B and B owners. The room was spotless, all the necessary drinks you would expect and more and by the end of the trip after leigh commented at breakfast about decaffinated tea/coffee it appeared in the room. As you would have read from the previous comments attention to detail made the trip that extra bit special.

We were intitally going to head to a premier Inn as we saw it was local and thought you know what your getting as neither of us had been in a BnB before. I am so glad we didn't firstly, we saw it after travelling around it is no where by the sea, it was run down ( from the outside), more expensive and we would have missed out on staying in this relaxing enviroment and meeting such lovely hosts.

I am so chufted we tried something different instead of the usual. We had things planned to visit, from the advice etc we recieved off Sue and Mike we didnt do half of it but headed to areas we didnt even know exsisted.

Things to visit - The Lost Gardens of HELIGAN, wear trainers or something, flip flops didn't do me any favourites most of the plants orginated from here that now makes the Eden project so we actually never went and it was so much nicer to be outside it was £10 pp. Lovely farmer shop at the end.

Somewhere we found but gutted we didnt know about sooner - Rashleigh Inn in Polkerris Beach and sams. Sams was very posh and fully booked so we went to the rashliegh Inn ( it was a last minute.com visit), lovely pub, fab food try the pint of prawns - full of locals. I think we spent about 3 hours in there eating and laughing at some locals body surfing in the crazy winds( very entertaining) !!

Barley sheaf - local pub about 10 min drive if that, nice food we went on a quiz night - had a laugh but waited ages for the food - but couldnt fault it was just hungry after a day of walking.

All in all, a fab trip. It was our first trip away together and Sue and Mike made it that extra bit special from their request on what time would we like breakfast to actually eating it - im not a fried breakfast girl but seriously Sue breakfasts were the best - i wish i had asked where the sausages were from. If that doesnt float your boat, there was fresh fruit salade, greek youghurt, soya yoghurt you name it - they would accomodate.

Room Tip: Dont take a hair dryer sue had left one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Valley Cottage is a very special bed & breakfast & this is down to the hosts, Mike & Sue. From the moment you arrive they make you feel so welcome with their friendly & happy manner.

They are always on hand to give their local knowledge & expertise. Their restaurant tips were fab! However we achieved nothing of what we planned to do as this place is so beautiful we relaxed in the garden, walked into mevagissey & ate at the lovely restaurants.

We stayed in the garden room & it is absolutely gorgeous. The decor is fresh, classy & light. The room is a lovey place to spend time, it has a very relaxed feel to it. Mike & Sue really do think of everything, we had freshments in the fridge, tea & coffee & a jar of shortbread for the time you felt a bit peckish! Thank you for topping it up! Even the draws are lined with such pretty draw liners, it is the little touches that mean so much. The cushions on the bed are so pretty, as soon as we walked in the room i decided i wanted the same at home! To be honest i am leaving here with lots of ideas for our home, they have such a good sense of style & design.

The bathroom is lovely, our favourite bit being the shower, it appears it is in a cupboard, open the doors & a spacious shower is hidden behind, such a nove idea!

When we opened the french doors we discovered the stunning garden, wow! There are so many wonderful aspects to the garden, a patio with two comfortable wicker chairs, lovely to have a morning coffee, then stone slab steps lead through a sea of colourful flowers & established greenery. The path leads one way to a an original open fronted Summer House, very picturesque & the perfect retreat to escape the sun or shelter from the breeze. Again this has a table & chairs & is a lovely little place to relax in & hide! If you take the path the other way there is a gravelled area with two sun loungers, we were lucky enough to make use of these! It felt like we were relaxing in the sunshine in a meadow!

We stayed for 3 nights so we were lucky enough to eat Sue's delicious breakfast 3 times!! It really was of a very high standard, the produce was definately top class. Sue asked exactly what we wanted so it was just right for us, in the past i have not been asked & then you get food you are not keen on or your favourite bits are missing. Not when Sue is cooking for you! My poached egg was the best i have ever had, thank you so much for sharing your secret with me! Then we had fresh fruit salad with thick creamy natural yoghurt, fruit juice & fresh fiter coffee - perfection for us! On our second morning my husbands tomato skins had been removed, without saying a word Sue had noticed that on the first morning he had left them, like we say, the detail is amazing!

The walk into Mevagissey is about 15 minutes & is a pretty walk along the coast. Just a good distance to work up an appetite for delicious food & wine.

A huge thank you to Mike & Sue. We had a wonderful stay with you. Valley Cottage is a real gem. This is the best bed & breakfast we have ever stayed in.

Best wishes,

Warren & Charlotte Bailey (Grimsby, N E Lincolnshire)

Room Tip: The garden room is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warrenbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

It gives us great pleasure to write about our happy discovery of Sue and Mike at their delightful home- Valley Cottage. In every way they provide nothing short of perfection - hospitality, comfort, food and accomodation. Our only concern is that as they become more famous that we shall find that they may not have a vacency for US !!!! Thankyou for a super week Jackie & Charles xx

Room Tip: All rooms excellant. Rely on Sue and Mike to meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Decent - or rotten - accommodation can make or break a holiday. You won't get anything less than excellent with Sue and Mike Udy at Valley Cottage. Forget the 5 star hotels (where you're expected to tip the sullen Waiters) and the food served up as if an army is expected, head to this lovely little corner of Mevagissey instead.

From a personal point of view, I had a single room which came complete with a double bed and a television, although I couldn't see the coast I could hear the waves splashing and that wonderful sea air smell through the open window. Breakfast was nicely varied with plenty of choice - including a few tips on how to eat a healthy breakfast at home.

But it was the little touches that I found really nice. The selection of leaflets of 'places to visit' in the lounge, the small jar of biscuits alongside the tea/coffee making area (which seemed to magically replenish themselves everyday) there's even a small 'cool-box' fridge in the lounge for your cold drinks. Sue and Mike have thought of everything.

Mevagissey itself is literally right on top of Portmellon and has everything you need. Shops, restaurants and I counted at least five different ice-cream outlets - pure heaven. Even the seagulls are well behaved in this little corner of Cornwall.
You can't beat a good old English seaside holiday. Who needs Blackpool or Brighton ? Next time I'm in Cornwall I'll definitely head back to Mevagissey.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmellon Cove
0.5 km away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 km away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.0 km away
The Rising Sun Inn
The Rising Sun Inn
#2 of 2 in Portmellon Cove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Portmellon Cove Guest House
Portmellon Cove Guest House
#12 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 km away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#1 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Cottage

Property: Valley Cottage
Address: Valley Cottage Rising Sun Lane | Portmellon, Portmellon Cove, Mevagissey PL26 6PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey > Portmellon Cove
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Portmellon Cove
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,679 - ₹ 6,132
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mike & Sue Udy, invite you to Valley Cottage Bed & Breakfast in beautiful Portmellon Cove, just 100 yards level walk to the tidal beach. We offer a unique, relaxing, coastal retreat for the discerning guest. All of our stylish, comfortable, well equipped rooms have en-suite bath or shower room, generous hospitality tray, flat screen TV/DVD, silent mini-fridge, hairdryer and Wi-Fi. Prices range from £65 to £80 per night for 2 people, including a delicious, freshly cooked breakfast. Free parking is in the drive at the front of the house. Valley Cottage is tucked away up a private lane, set amidst a lovely landscaped garden with many places for guests to sit and relax in both sun and shade. We are ideally placed in mid Cornwall, with easy access to the Lost Gardens of Heligan, the Eden Project and many National Trust properties and gardens. Mevagissey a vibrant working fishing village with restaurants, shops galleries and museum, is a 20 minute walk, or a short drive away. Portmellon is on the beautiful south coast with many secluded beaches and for keen walkers, the South West Coast Path runs along the bottom of our lane. About an hour's drive, would take you to West Cornwall for the day, to enjoy Lands End, St. Michael's Mount and St. Ives. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing