We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It did exactly what it said on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Beautiful spacious room with a lovely sea view. Scrumptious food. The location of the hotel is an ideal starting point for the cliff walk to Bedruthan steps and beyond before returning to make full use of the Relaxing spa with among other things it's wonderful hydropool. You must try the outdoor sensory garden, a great experience whatever the weather.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkjames2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, House Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so lucky to be on the coastal path; being able to explore so freely adds another element of excitement to our guest’s holiday. Thank you for recommending the Sensory Spa Garden and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

So where do we start about why we chose The Bedruthan Hotel to stay at this week? Well, one reason was that my wife and I stayed 2 nights all inclusive last year, to celebrate her birthday and had a lovely holiday. Before we left we were told to bring Tilly our adorable Labrador Retriever with us next time. We were a little apprehensive because we have never taken her away on holiday before and wondered how she would cope? I emailed The Bedruthan Hotel on August bank holiday Sunday to discuss availability for early October and received a lovely reply from "Elaine" part of The Bedruthan Hotel and Spa Reservations Team on that same day. How good is that, and following a conversation with her on the following Monday had no hesitation to book the room she recommended that would be suitable for the 3 of us.

And now the good part. We booked into reception and you could tell straight away that this was a proper "dog-friendly hotel." Water bowls were scattered at sensible positions around the hotel, the staff went out of their way to stroke Tilly and she revelled with all the fuss and attention being given. Our room was beautifully clean, no dog hairs anywhere but 2 dog bones, a proper quality dog bed, 2 feeding bowls and birthday card for my wife, were! These little touches made a big difference and straight away we were starting to relax, which was the prime reason for our visit.

Over the next few days, we could not have been made to feel more welcome in the Wild Cafe, and all our meals were excellent. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked to order on 2 days which is an excellent idea to reduce wastage. Although we liked all the waiting staff the social skills "Tina" and "Issie" had been truly brilliant and made you feel more like a friend on holiday visiting, rather than just another customer. Thank you, ladies, for doing such a good job.

Alas, the time went much too quickly and before we settled our bill and said goodbye, Tilly was having such a good time she attempted to drag me back to the hotel, so she must have had a good holiday.

To conclude not everybody like dogs but if they are well behaved, kept on a lead in the hotel and know which areas they are welcome in, then it's not a problem. Thank you, Elaine, for doing this when we arrived. Special thanks must go to the hotel management team who have set the benchmark for what a "proper dog-friendly hotel" should be like.

Thanks again to all involved and hopefully we will be able to return, same time next year to enjoy the wonderful Cornish hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Devonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, House Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Tilly was an absolute delight just like her owners. Thank you for sending the video of her on Mawgan Porth beach, she was having such a jolly time and the photos of her in the room were just lovely. Our reception team are obsessed with dogs, Rosie, our reception supervisor, bought the special Cornish tartan ribbon that we tie around the Bonios and she put together the 'Dog's at Bedruthan guide' to make life easier for dog owners looking for a nice place to walk or dine with their faithful friends. I will make sure Elaine, Tina and Issie know how fabulous they are; they will be so pleased to have had a mention. Thank you for informing people how great we are with dogs, they really do brighten up our day so if this review makes more people bring their dogs then we will be a happy team. Come back soon.
Kind regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Wanted to review after reading some negative reviews before we came......
Can't find fault. Not even one....and we are fussy!
Loved the relaxed feel and the very friendly staff.
Must try to have a sea view if at all possible, sitting watching the sunset was special.
The garden spa was great ,
Food ....... amazing , especially the Indonesia fish curry and the beef noodle dish.
I did comment that it might be the best meal I'd had !!!!
We had a 3 night stay with garden spa, lunch and an evening meal included....not cheap but well worth it.
Only my second review but felt compelled to write....

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, House Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Welcome to the Bedruthan family. Thank you for not being able to find fault - what a compliment. There is nothing better then watching a sunset; it sounds like you had an amazing stay with us. You've made me want to order the Indonesian fish curry! Come back soon.
Kind regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

My wife and I had a one week family holiday with our daughter,son in law and two grandchildren. We stayed in a double room with a fantastic sea view on a DBB basis. The hotel is trendy chilled and relaxed. There are two dining room choices one with a small supplement both of which are excellent. We absolutely loved the bay which is accessible from directly below the hotel. One word of caution you need to be fully mobile to take this route. Alternatively you can drive to the beach where there is a car park,toilets,pub, and shops including a small supermarket. It is very much a family hotel with lots of children. We had a great family holiday.

Room Tip: Need to book early for sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, House Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It's so special when we have grandparents, parents and grandchildren staying with us and so lovely that all 3 generations can enjoy themselves equally. Thank you for informing our future guests about the access options to the beach and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I've been going here for a few years now with a group of local mummy friends for an annual one night spa break. We've always enjoyed it and look forward to it greatly. The staff are always a pleasure, spa facilities are great and the view is just amazing. Could look at that sea all day.

Just one slight disappointment this year... we've always eaten in The Herring but they've just started charging a supplement to eat there. £5 per adult and £10 for a child (which didn't matter to us on a child-free break, but crikey that seemed steep for a child's supplement!!). Anyway, with six of us ladies, we would have been paying a £30 supplement before we even sat down to order anything which we thought was pretty poor. The food isn't exactly cheap in this restaurant as it is, but we'd always really enjoyed it in the past and splashed out on three courses and copious wine. Given the supplement charge, we decided to dine in the Wild Cafe instead... which was okay... but I've eaten much better food elsewhere and it didn't top the night off in quite the same way. I'm really surprised to be honest that this sort of supplement has been introduced (particularly for children). It seems to really go against the grain for this hotel and its ethics. Real shame.

Apart from that, great stay. And the sensory spa garden is a must!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GoldilocksCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
7.3 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 km away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,610 reviews
4.8 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
25.4 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,611 reviews
13.3 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedruthan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Address: | Trenance, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: ₹ 12,428 - ₹ 18,545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedruthan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed Cornwall with beaches and stunning coastline on our doorstep, Bedruthan is so much more than a hotel with theatre, workshops, fairs and a art gallery. Spend your days enjoying locally sourced food in our Wild Cafe and Herring Restaurant or indulging and unwinding in our indoor spa, for a really invigorating experience try our Sensory Spa Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Bedruthan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedruthan Steps Mawgan Porth
Hotel Bedruthan Steps
Bedruthan Steps Hotel
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing