We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wanted to like it more and not sure why we didn't”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Actually this review may say more about us than the hotel - I think we may be on the wrong side of yummy mumminess and bearded media guru to really appreciate this hotel - as there is not a lot to dislike about the place.
Yes, as another reviewer mentioned there are a lot of kids ( including our two) but then we went in the summer holidays and it is advertised as a family friendly hotel so not really a surprise - probably better geared up for younger children than older ones. We only stayed two nights and didn't have a huge amount of time to explore but kids reported outdoor pool was cold, playroom was good, and flat garlic bread amazing. We had a family sea view room which was large enough for us all, a litte worn around the edges, great big picture windows overlooking lovely views and a small and needing to be updated bathroom.
The place is quite higgedly -piggedly with loads of nooks and crannies, nice squashy -sofa-ed public rooms and areas to sit outside but for some reason it felt a little claustrophobic and hemmed in. Staff were friendly but I was disappointed with level of interest/service when our daughter was sick one night and I left the (covered) bin outside the room to be collected and asked for some clean pillow covers. No-one came so my husband finally took it down - no -one asked how she was the next day either.
Anyway, for whatever reason we didn't find the hotel to be as we thought it would be - not because anything was particularly wrong but because we ( and the kids) just didn't have the sort of time we thought we might have. Could be expectations were too high or that we came from staying at the Carlyon Bay hotel where we did have a very enjoyable visit - slightly more old fashioned but with superb facilities and much more room. But like I said - we may just be getting old!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank meljaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, House Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

What a shame you didn't feel the Bedruthan magic. The Carlyon Bay is a wonderful hotel; we are so different though so it could be down to personal preference. We certainly have more of a modern retro vibe and I can understand how the 1960's building appears to have many nooks and crannies; we utilise all these spaces to create innovative and unique public areas a lot of which are very large also. I'm so sorry that no one came to help when you reported your daughter's sickness, I believe a mistake must have happened with the communication process because we have a ridged procedure that we follow whenever anyone is sick which includes the Duty manager always checking on the family the next morning; I'm so sorry this did not happen during your stay. Thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff.
Kind regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Don't be put off by the exterior (which is pretty awful!).
The staff really 'make' this hotel and are all wonderful.
Were given a free upgrade to a sea view room as it was a special birthday which gave fabulous views of the beach (rather than the car park).
Wild cafe, The Herring and Spa Garden all highly recommend.
Would like to return with the kids one day (maybe!).

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Reederswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, House Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

We prefer to describe the exterior as quirky! I'm glad we were able to be part of your special birthday celebration. Thank you for recommending the Sensory Spa Garden and the Herring and we hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed on the toddler time out break. We have a toddler and a baby and needed to recharge our batteries and all the wonderful facilities helped considerably. We had a sea view villa which has a fabulous view of the bay, the location is fabulous. We used the childcare facilities so we could indulge in the spa and we were not disappointed. Our children loved the creche, and wanted to go back for more sessions. The view from the spa is beautiful and the spa facilities are really good. What really made our stay was the helpfulness from the staff, nothing was too much trouble which makes life so much easier when you have 2 small children.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angharad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, House Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

The toddler breaks are perfect for tired parents to recharge their batteries; it sounds like you all had a lovely time. It must be so reassuring (and helpful) that your little ones wanted to spend more time in childcare; they are a great team. Thank you for saying our helpful staff made your stay, they will be so pleased. See you again soon.
Kind regards,
Rachel
 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Beautiful hotel with friendly helpful staff. No complaints about anything at all. The Herring restaurant was very good as was the breakfast. Wonderful views from the bar and tranquility room. My favorite place in Cornwall

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johngold2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, House Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you so much - can you write all our reviews :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Went for a mid week break at the end of September with my wife. Got the sea view room we requested and yet again it was fantastic. The staff were all friendly and helpful with all questions answered in a proffesional manner. The food was good and there was a great choice at breakfast. The bar was well stocked and a fair price.
The spa garden was a great experience again and the spa facilities clean and well managed.
We will definitely keep returning but next time I will ask for some firmer pillows.

Room Tip: Sea view recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, House Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

We try our best to always be friendly and helpful; thank you so much for acknowledging this. The Spa Garden is definitely becoming a firm favourite amongst our guests which is wonderful because it can be enjoyed in any weather! We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
7.3 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 km away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,610 reviews
4.8 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
25.4 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,613 reviews
13.3 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedruthan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Address: | Trenance, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: ₹ 12,342 - ₹ 18,513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedruthan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed Cornwall with beaches and stunning coastline on our doorstep, Bedruthan is so much more than a hotel with theatre, workshops, fairs and a art gallery. Spend your days enjoying locally sourced food in our Wild Cafe and Herring Restaurant or indulging and unwinding in our indoor spa, for a really invigorating experience try our Sensory Spa Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Bedruthan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedruthan Steps Mawgan Porth
Hotel Bedruthan Steps
Bedruthan Steps Hotel
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing