We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Scarlet Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa(Mawgan Porth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Retorrick Mill(St. Mawgan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa(Newquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pendeen Hotel(Newquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,662)
Filter reviews
1,662 results
Traveller rating
1,302
248
80
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,302
248
80
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe cliffrelaxation roomspa journeyhotel dogeco hotelindulgent roomglass of champagnegenerous roomopen plan bathroomspecial occasionworth every pennyamazing hoteltea and coffeeoverlooking the beachsteam roomwine list
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 1,662 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and overall had an excellent stay . On the first day we had a couple of minor issues relating to customer service and I raised these with the duty manager . Her response was most professional and made up for any disappointment we felt . How a top hotel deals with these issues is a measure of their true standard and The Scarlet showed itself to be a top hotel . We will definitely return again .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonny6511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017


Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Our ultimate aim is for each and every guest to have the best experience possible. Mistakes do happen and if we are aware of any issues whilst in house, our management team are on hand to listen and come up with solutions to ensure you have a wonderful Scarlet experience. I will of course share this lovely feedback, and very much look forward to welcoming you back to hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Leanne Barlow
House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

I really appreciate that this hotel is dog-friendly but not child-friendly - dogs are much quieter than kids! Maybe if you were looking for a spa weekend this would be a good place - but I'm not that person. It's a cool, modern space with beautiful landscaping. It was rainy, so we never got to enjoy the full experience of sitting outside in the pods or on the lounge balcony. Staff is friendly and helpful, but I wish they had kettles in the rooms - they want you to ring up for tea. At check-in, they said they could put a kettle in our room, which was great, but they took it out when cleaning on our next to last day. It was also annoying that they used loose leaf and not tea bags because they never cleaned the teapots when doing our room so we had to do it ourselves, which was messy. Can't they find high-quality, sustainable tea bags? They were very nice about changing the bedding when we discovered it was feather, but it would have been great if they asked about allergies upon reserving or check-in. Had two dinners which were very good. Apparently breakfast was included but no one reminded me at check-in so we didn't know about it. In the end, we were left feeling that we paid more than it was worth, so while it was nice, we probably wouldn't go back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank eukaryotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience. I was saddened to read that there were parts of your experience that that you found disappointing. I would very much like the opportunity to discuss this with you in person. Please can you contact me with a number and a convenient time to call? I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards
Leanne Barlow
House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Long weekend break from Friday to Monday. Superb hotel to relax in, great location for walks with fantastic views.. Spa and relaxation area great. food superb.
The highlight of this hotel is THE STAFF, All staff so very friendly and so very helpful
On arrival you are greeted and with the merest of formalities, you are in. You are given a guided tour of the hotel by knowledgeable staff with recommendations for local restaurants and walks if desired.
Breakfast was serene, relaxing too, with all dietary needs catered for.
The hotel has many areas where you can relax without ever feeling crowded. We didn`t try the outdoor sauna or hot tubs but were assured "it was wonderful" by people we chatted to.
Perfect is the word to end with.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stew8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Wow thank you! This will be a pleasure to share with all of the team. We really enjoy what we do here and it is so motivating to be able to share such lovely feedback. Please do come back again as you certainly must try the sauna and hot tubs on your next stay.
Kind regards
Leanne Barlow
House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We absolutely loved this hotel. The Scarlet is in a fantastic location, with truly amazing views of the beach and the coastline. Although there is a relaxed, casual vibe here, the service you receive remains at an extremely high level. The food here is also of the best quality and highly recommended. We loved everything we had to eat here from the fantastic breakfast, snacks delivered to us in the 'outdoor pods' and most especially our dinner one evening when we even managed to sit outside on the terrace watching the most beautiful sunset. We were lucky with the weather but the hotel has a lovely spa if it does happen to rain. Our room was perfect with big patio doors that allowed lots of light in and let you enjoy the fantastic view of the beach. All in all, this is a 'must visit' hotel!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a view of the beach and coastline!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you so much for your very kind words. We feel very fortunate to be in such a stunning location and to be able to share the incredible views with our guests every day. I am so pleased you enjoyed the food. Our team of chefs work extremely hard to produce delicious and inspiring dishes using local and seasonal produce.
I hope you are able to return soon.
Kind regards
Leanne Barlow
House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We had such a wonderful stay in this hotel - we loved the creative space, with artwork for sale decorating the walls. The bedroom was amazing with a wonderful shower space, bath and private balcony. We had fantastic treatments at the spa which left us so relaxed. And the restaurant was amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natashaannedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your Scarlet experience, and what lovely words! I am so pleased you loved our beautiful hotel and I hope you are able to join us again soon.
Kind regards
Leanne Barlow
House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews