We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i always recommend this hotel to friends”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 March 2012

i have been to this hotel a few times with my husband, and still cannot find fault with it. the food is always amazing and inspiring, the service is friendly and relaxed (a difficult combination to get right), and the rooms are luxurious and just as they should be for the price. there's nothing like sleeping to the sound of waves crashing. beautiful location, even on a grey cold day!

a real treat for special occasions or when you really feel the need to unwind, relax and pamper yourself.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,347 - 1,351 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

Everything we could have asked for; peaceful, relaxing, fun.. one of the best in the south west! The staff went above and beyond. Every detail you could think of they had prepared for from a DVD libary to cliff top hot tubs. I can't fault it in any way. Thankyou for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: We had the just right room, and you don't need any more than this, it's so spacious and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review of the Scarlet. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at The Scarlet with our two labradors. The staff were excellent and the room very comfortable with balcony. Our room was situated so that we could have easy access to an outside door taking us to the beach. They provided a hosepipe outside to wash off the dogs and towels, a real bonus. Dogs were allowed in the reception rooms but not bar or restaurant. (We have no problem with that).
The setting is lovely and the outside pool fits into the landscape, but too cold at this time of year for us. The indoor pool was my favourite part. Spa very relaxing. We do hope to return sometime soon with or without dogs. Personally didn't find the food terribly inspiring, but that could just be our personal taste. Breakfast on our last morning was superb.

Room Tip: With dogs room 14 or 15. Without dogs sea facing balconies or patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this informative review. I am delighted you all enjoyed your stay. I do hope we will see you and the dogs again soon.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The location for the Scarlet is wonderful and no one can question the fabulous views from the rooms and the restaurant etc. The food is pretty good and the staff are quite attentive. The quality of the surroundings is however belo what you would expect of an hotel in this price bracket, the place already looks rather tired even though it's only been open for a year or so. Fittings in the bedroom were broken and there were cracks in the wall. The toiletries were half used when we checked in. The worst bit was the construction of the division between the bathroom and the sleeping area. Call me old fashioned but I would rather there was more than just a sheet of frosted glass with a 1cm air gap all the way round seperating me from my dearest when either she or I were using the toilet. Also the toilet and shower were lumped together in a wetroom the drainage for which was insufficient leaving the entire floor dangerously wet and slippery requiring us to shuffle around with a towel to make it safe. Yet again another 'trendy' hotel with no tea and coffee facilities in the room.

That said the waiting staf in the bar and restaurant were excellent and attentive, I just wish that the collective term for adults spending well over £200 per night wasn't 'guys'.

Room Tip: go for a room on the ground floor with access direct to the gardens and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your views of the Scarlet here. I was very sorry to hear that the hotel did not live up to your expectations.

I would really appreciate it if we could discuss your stay further. If you could spare the time please could you email me nikki.broom@scarlethotel.co.uk to arrange a call.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

If you want to treat yourself (and your other half) this is the place. The rooms were great, fantastic food, free breakfast in bed, but the best by far is the service which is personal, friendly and genuine!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humphrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.2 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,276 reviews
7.1 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
8.2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
222 reviews
4.6 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
34.4 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: ₹ 21,290 - ₹ 27,153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing