We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
136
60
17
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
60
17
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubjelly beansmusselsfull english breakfastclosing timeate herethanks guyssunday carverybeer gardenreasonable sizenice staycooked to perfectionlovely placetoastlovely roomfeel very welcomecomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We booked to stay here for one night after reading the good reviews. The room was absolutely fine, if a bit on the small side, but it is a very old building and perhaps to be expected. The food too as per the reviews was good pub food. What spoilt our stay was the bathroom- way below an acceptable standard. I have added photos. Because of this I wouldn't recommend or stay here in future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RayTorbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review.
It is a shame that you did not enjoy your overnight stay with us and felt the need to share pictures of your disappointment all over a social media website. If you had bought this to my attention at the time we could have possibly moved you to another room.
We have had the chance now to refurbish the room and bring it to an 'acceptable standard''
I hope you find somewhere in the future that meets your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

I was travelling as a lone business traveller.
Upon arrival, car park was busy, but I squeezed into a space!
Room was a reasonable size (room 5) and the welcome from the staff was good.
Bathroom is a little tight in places - not small exactly, but tight and the bath was a little tired, but clean...
There was a little noise from the bar, but that stopped by 10.30 so no issue.
Bed was comfortable and room quiet. As a business user, a desk with chair would have been useful.
When I ate, the food was reasonable - I had the fish and chips and it was pretty good.
In summary, no issues. Accommodation good, Food good.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Thanks Graham & Simon
Had a great time on Holiday in Lostwithiel.
Superb food in the Resturant with every attention to detail. These Guys know how to look after you.
Sunday Carvery is A must
We arrived home last night and I'm missing you all at the Royal Oak already. Can't wait to return very soon.
If your looking for a place to stay the Royal Oak has nice, comfortable, very clean bedrooms with attention to every need & detail. Fantastic food wether it's breakfast, lunch or evening meal.
Bars & Beer Garden The Royal Oak is the place to be give Graham or Simon A call they will look after you.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so glad you enjoyed you time at The Royal Oak.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We would highly recommend this B&B. Very reasonable prices for rooms, meals & drinks. A warm, welcoming atmosphere & the most helpful & friendly staff. Ran very efficiently by fantastic managers. Exceptionally clean. Family & pet friendly. We will definitely be visiting again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Danii K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

My local pub but the food is better then the average pub food. Always good service and lovely staff.! The food is always delicious! Homemade food and well worth a visit. The atmosphere is always good.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Charviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so glad you enjoy your food with us.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews