We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
42
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cream tea on arrival washing machine and microwave the cottages lovely campsite interesting history bodmin moor days walking views are spectacular scones fantastic location surrounding countryside local area feel very welcome the pub freezer caravan pitches
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Perfect cottage for two people and a dog, the views from the property and garden are amazing and the sunrise spectacular! The cottage was clean, well furnished and warm, we are planning to stay again for longer in the near future. Lynn and John were welcoming and their breakfasts are excellent value. We loved the chickens!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Cheesewring Farm Holiday Cottages and Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the farm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Just returned from a super week at Fizz-gog Cottage, Cheesewring Farm. This cottage is a good size for two people, nicely furnished, clean and cosy. The heating system was very effective and we even had to turn down the thermostat after the first evening. Fizz-gog has lovely views over the moors with the main window & door facing East so it gets the sun in the mornings.
On arrival we were greeted by John & Lyn who make every effort to make their guests feel welcome without being intrusive. The complementary Cornish cream tea, fresh eggs and milk that were in the fridge were much appreciated. The farm and cottages are ideally positioned, in quiet uncrowded surroundings, both for local walking on Bodmin Moor and for visiting any of the many attractions in East Cornwall.
We arranged to have "full English breakfasts" each day, (a holiday indulgence) which were delicious, and can also recommend a local pub, about 1 mile away, (The Cheesewring Hotel), for occasional lunches or evening meals.
Highly recommended, thank you for an enjoyable stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ther0bbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Cheesewring Farm Holiday Cottages and Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Cheesewring Farm and look forward to seeing you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Took a two night camping trip solo with my little dog grace. I was met by John, who showed me the best place to put my tent and what a place it was! I was over looking the whole moor and it blew me away. The toilets and shower room was all I could wish for. ( The shower is amazing ) The little cabin kitchenette is such a bounus too.

I had underestimated the bedding I had brought but fear not, Lyn was on hand to offer me a very comfy quilt. I slept like a log and woke to an amazing breakfast.

The camping site even has a little play area, swings etc for the children. You have everything within reach so park the car up and on the Moors you go. Lyn and John were amazing and leave you to your holiday but at hand should you need them. You even receive a free cream tea!!

I shall be back soon and will also be bringing my family too. Such a beautiful place and I can't say enough about it. Thank you so much, I really enjoyed my stay. See you again real soon.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank glo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Cheesewring Farm Holiday Cottages and Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. Hopefully, the weather will be a little warmer when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

We arrived with our caravan on a very blustery rainy afternoon and were met by John the owner who advised us of a most suitable pitch for our fairly large 'van. The site facilities included a well equipped toilet/bathroom/ shower and a refrigerator, freezer and sink for visitors convenience. There are multiple pitches with 16amp electric connection and the usual water and elsan emptying facilities. Later that evening John's wife arrived at our pitch with a cream tea which was a thoughtful way of welcoming us to Cornwall.

Next morning the weather had cleared and we were treated to a magnificent view from this high vantage point back towards Callington and the surrounding countryside. We had a wonderful 10 day stay(the weather improved!) visiting Bodmin Jail museum, Morwellham Quay.(from the TV series) Bodmin and Wenford heritage railway, Port Isaac, Davidstow RAF Museum(excellent) and took the Looe Valley line from Liskeard to Looe;very cheap and very pretty and of course visited The Jamaica Inn on the A30.. The approach roads need care with a caravan or motorhome but John supplies a comprehensive route sheet when booking, We found the lorry route though Pensilva was a good approach from the A390. At the back of the campsite there is a gate which leads straight out on to the moors ;a walkers paradise and no need to touch the car.

If there was anything to criticise it is that on the lower hardstandings no's 1 to 4 pitching an awning may cause an obstruction to other campers, due to a lack of width but there are many other places to choose all with a hook up adjacent.

John and his wife are very friendly and helpful and are clearly keen to ensure that all visitors enjoy their stay, we certainly did.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DR1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Cheesewring Farm Holiday Cottages and Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review - we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Arrived on Monday 26th Feb 2018 pm, bathroom was dirty, used sanitary towels in bin, shaving stubble in sink, pubic hairs in bath and excrement under toilet seat.
Living room was bitterly cold, heating inadequate! Furniture grubby and smelt damp.
Electricity supplied was supposed to be included in rental cost according to booking terms and conditions (cottages.com), in reality there was a £1 coin eating meter hidden in one of the kitchen cupboards, this had been pre-loaded presumably by the owners to 5%. The needle showing usage seemed to drop at an alarming rate, the "instructions" within the Cottage stated the meter had been pre-loaded to allow for "average" use, after which it could be topped up using £1 coins. The meter ran out in a little over 24 hours and when asked the owners we were told "we would top up the meter when asked", this being totally contrary to the "instructions" in the Cottage. It being the coldest week of the winter, we asked for the oil fired central heating to be put on for longer, it came on at 7am, went off at 11pm.... We asked for an extra hour either side of these times, which the owner begrudgingly obliged, whilst at the same time informing us that in his view "people are very soft these days, I remember the winter of '63", my partner has a chronic health condition which is aggravated by the cold, we told the owners this as well.
The cooker is an electric fan assisted gas oven! no instructions for use... We had not used this type of oven before, there were no usage instructions, so we had to ask the owners how to use it.
We popped out to do some shopping and there was a note which had been left on the cottage kitchen table, whilst we were out. The owner had been in the Cottage unannounced and uninvited, rather than wait for our return (we had been out for maybe 1.5 hours). The note offered us the opportunity to move to the flat above the Cottage, this was called Cheesewring, on the basis that the property had double glazing and maybe warmer, this being day 3 our stay and being so cold we accepted, we packed up our belongings and moved upstairs. Cheesewring however, we soon discovered was dirtier than Bickle Bice Cottage, there was an overwhelming smell of undiluted Bleach, although this had certainly not been used to "clean" the flat, just to mask the stench from the loo, as we found out later that evening, whilst taking a bath. The shower curtain had black mold on it. The bathroom was generally grubby, bathroom window was locked, so we were unable to ventilate it, let the smell of bleach out! Black mould around several windows and also on the kitchen curtains. That same evening, we found the TV didn't work...there was a portable receiver box which didn't work, we had to make another call to the owner, they came over and replaced the TV receiver in what was yet another awkward encounter.
The following day, Thursday we awoke to find that the central heating wasn't on...the premises being bitterly cold, we texted the owner, and received no reply....until Saturday afternoon! Later on Thursday we packed up and left, we'd had enough !!
Not Nit picking, but, non of the electrical appliances in either Bickle Bice or Cheesewring showed any evidence of ever been PAT tested (no stickers on plugs). The doors/Windows leading from the master bedroom and second bedroom of Bickle Bice were locked and there was no key! In the event of there being a fire in the hallway, these doors/windows would be the only means of escape from the bedrooms. In short, please book alternative accommodation, this is not representative of Cornwall as a whole.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ag1202016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Cheesewring Farm Holiday Cottages and Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

We are very sorry to read your very negative review, which we feel does not fully or accurately reflect the efforts we made to satisfy the complaints (mostly in respect of the temperature in the sitting room in the evening) made at the time of your stay.

We would like to record that the majority of the issues raised in your review were not relayed to us at the time, despite repeated checks made during your stay. If they had been, every effort would have been made to remedy your dissatisfaction.

I'm afraid the unprecedented weather conditions (experienced throughout the country) were beyond our control. We extended heating requirements to those which you requested and offered a move to a warmer cottage - again, the boiler frosting up and cutting out overnight was beyond our control, as was the non-arrival of your text message alerting us to the problem. It must be pointed out that no messages as to the situation were left on the home 'phone or the mobile, nor were we approached directly, despite us being on site. Text messages here can be notoriously tardy in their arrival, as attested by the fact that you did not receive our reply (sent lunchtime on Thursday) until Saturday.

If you would care to contact us directly, we can discuss the situation further and offer some recompense.

In the meantime, I would request that others reading this review should do so in conjunction with the many other positive reviews written by our guests over the last three years.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews