We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly disappointing ”

Gwinear Pitch & Putt
Ranked #6 of 12 Outdoor Activities in Hayle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our course is set in beautiful Cornish countryside just a couple of miles from Hayle. Our course is an 9 hole short course over 10 acres. Tim and Annette will be happy to make your day an unforgettable experience. Tap in the postcode to bring you to our door or follow signs to Carnell Green and then to Reawla where you will see the brown sign to our Pitch and Putt opposite the shop.
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Really sorry to be the first to post a negative review, but I visited this week with my two teenage children & the course was very wet & boggy.

The ball was caked in mud each time it landed.

Furthermore, the course is now just 9 holes & not 18 !

A very helpful chap greeted us, providing as many balls / tees etc. as we needed and did advise the course had been shortened but didn’t warn of the wet conditions.

I hope it’s drier in the summer months, but we won’t be giving it another try.

Needless to say we didn’t complete the round as it wasn’t particularly enjoyable.

Thank StBigOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette B, Owner at Gwinear Pitch & Putt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Really sorry to hear of the difficult times you experienced on our course. We have tried to let people know that the course is not good at the moment due to the unusual amount of rain that the county has had to put up with. We have changed the course into a 9 hole but have advertised as much. We are in a state of flux at the moment as we are converting the old clubhouse into a holiday let and obviously have had to change the course around. I do hope that you change your mind and come and see us once the weather has improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great fun"
in 14 reviews
"great pitch"
in 2 reviews
"short game"
in 2 reviews
"fun couple of hours"
in 2 reviews
"great golf"
in 2 reviews
"tees"
in 10 reviews
"annette"
in 14 reviews
"milkshakes"
in 4 reviews
"exercise"
in 5 reviews
"cafe"
in 16 reviews
"cornwall"
in 10 reviews
"beginners"
in 4 reviews
"holiday"
in 5 reviews
"dog"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

I visited here with my wife and two teenage daughters and surprisingly they were both up for a round of golf. It took us about 3 hours to do the 18 holes. It's a lovely little course with some nice views. It's perfect for beginners or those not wanting a serious game. It was very quiet with only a couple of other families on the course. We also took the dog around with us but she had to stay on the lead, being a ball obsessed dog this was obviously torture for her. I would definitely recommend this for an afternoons fun and some exercise.

Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette B, Owner at Gwinear Pitch & Putt, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thanks Chris, glad your family and the dog enjoyed our course

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Found this course on trip advisor, wanted somewhere not too strict, where non players could learn, where the cost wasn't prohibitive, well here it is, fantastic little course, 18 holes, so 3 hours of golf, holes range from 47 yards to the challenging 18th of 112 yards over the bushes. Club hire, bag, tees, balls (no charge for lost balls), all for £7 per person.
My wife had never played before and really picked it up and we all thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon.

Thank Musbury35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette B, Owner at Gwinear Pitch & Putt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for the lovely review, we are so pleased that you liked our little gem of a course

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

I love visiting Gwinear Pitch and Putt. They are super friendly and I enjoy playing a bit of golf and enjoying some food in the cafe (great vegan options is a bonus!) Highly recommend for a fun day out.

Thank Shayna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed this.

Well maintained little course and a few of the holes are pretty challenging, especially if your golf is as bad as ours!!

Friendly reception, when we arrived and we were duely issued with a bag of clubs and several balls, lucky as we lost a few between 18 holes!!

Probably one of the best pitch and putts I've played on in a long time.

Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gwinear Pitch & Putt also viewed

 

Been to Gwinear Pitch & Putt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing