We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite cafe”

The Mermaid Beach Cafe
Description: Brew with a view ... The Mermaid Cafe is situated right beside the beautiful sandy beach in Gorran Haven, Cornwall. We open pretty much every day from April right through to the end of September, offering hot and cold drinks, a selection of takeaway food (including breakfast baps, burgers, baguettes, paninis and cakes) and, of course, luscious Cornish ice cream! We also offer buckets, spades and a range of other beach toys so that you and your children can enjoy hours of fun on the beach.
Restaurant details
Description: Brew with a view ... The Mermaid Cafe is situated right beside the beautiful sandy beach in Gorran Haven, Cornwall. We open pretty much every day from April right through to the end of September, offering hot and cold drinks, a selection of takeaway food (including breakfast baps, burgers, baguettes, paninis and cakes) and, of course, luscious Cornish ice cream! We also offer buckets, spades and a range of other beach toys so that you and your children can enjoy hours of fun on the beach.
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Sitting outside in the sunshine with coffee and cake, overlooking the beach, bay and harbour is one of our favourite things to do in the area. Friendly staff too.

1  Thank achPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 September 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review - you're right, we do have an amazing location, which is absolutely fantastic both for gazing at the scenery and for people-watching! We are also very lucky with our staff. We're so glad you have enjoyed your experiences at the cafe, and hope you'll come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

I didn't have high expectations for the Mermaid, expecting a place right next to the beach on a bank holiday weekend to take a captive audience for all it could get away with. I was so pleased to be proved wrong. Run by nice friendly people clearly trying to provide a good service without ripping people off. I fail to understand how a made to order crab sandwich using all white meat on wholemeal bread for £7.95 can be perceived to be expensive: have these people seen the price of crab? Good luck to the owners, I sincerely hope you make a go of it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BigFatGreekHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 September 2017

Hi there, and thank you so much for your lovely review, which has really made my day! As you know, we were incredibly busy over the bank holiday weekend (we had sunshine for a change - yee ha!) so it's fantastic to hear that you were pleased with the service and food you received. This is our first season running the cafe and we are determined to continuously improve, and to offer all our customers delicious food, good value for money and great service. We really appreciate your feedback - thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We stopped off for a well earned rest having walked from Portmellon along the coastal path. There are several eateries in Gorran Haven despite it being such a small town but Mermaid is right on the beach and, as we discovered, has amazing crab baguettes! The staff are very friendly too! I would suggest the price point is a little high (almost £10 for a crab baguette) but in fairness the portions were huge and tasted great. Plus we're on holiday so who cares!!

1  Thank PistolPete2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 August 2017

Hi there, and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really glad you enjoyed your crab baguette! However, we're sorry you felt it was a bit pricey - we'd rather all our customers came away feeling that they'd not only had great food and great service, but also great value for money. This is our first season running the cafe so we are avidly taking on board everyone's feedback before deciding what, if anything, we should change and improve for next season. We hope you will come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This is a superb, friendly little beach-side cafe - in a fabulous location!
The cafe is right next to the beach, with a couple of tables outside, so great whilst the kids are playing close by.
I had the nachos, which were excellent whilst my wife had a panini - also delicious. We have tried the other cafes in Gorran Haven - but this is our favourite by a mile!
The staff are friendly and relaxed, so a perfect place, whilst on holiday - they also sell delicious Cornish ice creams. What's not to like!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank keenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 August 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are thrilled that you like our cafe and hope you will come back to visit us again many more times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Very useful café right on the beach at Gorran Haven. Coffee a bit pricey. Friendly service and especially good that you can take your mugs on the beach. Good sandwiches and ice creams.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Hugh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 August 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback, and especially for your thoughts on the price of the coffee. I'm glad you enjoyed your food, found the service friendly, and liked being able to take your mugs onto the beach. As you may know, this is our first season as the new owners of the cafe, so we are very keen to know what our customers think and what you would like us to change or keep the same! Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review, and we hope you'll come back next year if not before ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mermaid Beach Cafe also viewed

Gorran Haven, Cornwall
Gorran Haven, Cornwall
 
Gorran Haven, Cornwall
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to The Mermaid Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing