We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing hideaway!”

Review of The Old Sawmills

The Old Sawmills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Sawmills
One of the 5 bathrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The Old Sawmills
One of the 5 bathrooms
One of the 3 ensuite rooms
6 out of 7 of the bedrooms have superb views over the water
Family room
Medieval quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Golant, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing hideaway!”
Reviewed 6 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We were met by Ruth in the boat at Golant, loaded up our luggage and we were off, to the secluded Sawmills, quick 5mins boat trip rewarded by amazing view of the house. Very secluded (apart from the friendly swans) and peaceful, we enjoyed boat trips, playing in the canoe and crabbing off the jetty. The house suited us perfectly as an extended family get together, we had lots of room to spread out, enjoyed eating in the lovely conservatory and playing pool at night (with lots of wine!). The walk to Fowey was an energetic 45 mins, the 10 mins to Golant was much easier! Excellent access to the Eden Project helped make this a fabulous holiday destination. We managed to stay an extra day too to enjoy the superb weather!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveyramo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely Maybe”
Reviewed 10 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay in the quirky and unique birthplace of a decent slice of my record collection. Set in its own isolated creek off of the River Fowey, we were met upon our arrival at a nearby slipway in Golant by the lovely Ruth, to take us, our bags and numerous crates of wine downstream to our destination. It's a spectacular sight as you approach the rather impressive building and it appears from between the trees.
We were a group of 6 couples, and had enough double bedrooms to comfortably accommodate us, with a room of bunks left spare. Most rooms had en-suites, with only a few of us left to share the other bathrooms, so all worked out fine there too.
Although the building doubtless has many a tale of rock and roll excess, the modern refit quickly satisfies those more concerned with being cosy and comfortable than wishing to witness the scene of another Gallagher fight, and sometimes it's easy to forget that beneath the living room there's a studio that's been sought as the perfect hideaway for so many household names. There's a lovely open-plan kitchen and lounge area, complete with pool table, which becomes the social hub of the house, with great vistas from the attached conservatory for some memorable meals too. Taking a 'stroll' into nearby Fowey is not for the faint-hearted as there's some pretty serious hills to take on, but bearing in mind the beautiful seclusion they provide the Sawmills it's a small price to pay, and no-one need rush anywhere anyway when holidaying in Cornwall. Getting back to the cars at Golant on foot is much easier (and flatter!), but it's highly recommended to make sure there's a boat on hand if you wish to bring much shopping back with you as it's still a good ten-minute hike. All in all, a most memorable and fantastic stay in a real one-off pad. Thanks Ruth! I'm off to listen to the Stone Roses again...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ealing
Reviewed 15 October 2010 for a stay in May 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester
Reviewed 6 October 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The location and the space and the rock history
Liked least: nothing really, maybe lack of mobile phone reception
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kingston
Reviewed 6 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing