We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ideal holiday cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Oil House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Oil House
Valency Row Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The Old Oil House
Valency Row
Living Room
Open Plan through to the kitchen
The Old Oil House Kitchen
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
The Old Oil House on the Right
Boscastle Harbour
Boscastle Village
Boscastle Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Boscastle, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ann k
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ideal holiday cottage”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage has an excellent location close to shops, harbour and the valley to walk our dog. It is really well maintained and equipped with everything you could wish for. Th kitchen is superb. The welcome pack was much appreciated - the cookies were amazing! Communication was excellent throughout.
I would advise using the cones to ensure the parking space is free, some one parked there once even with them in place.
We would definitely book this cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious kitchen
Liked least: nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMY1976
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very relaxing 4 night break at the cottage. Myself, my husband, my 10 week old son and dog were made very welcome. The service from the owners was fantastic and they were happy to answer any questions we had prior to our stay.

It's centrally located in Boscastle and has everything you could need just across the road! (Chippy, bakers, local shop).

Parking was never a problem, you have a space allocated for you right outside.

Only criticism I'd have is the wi-fi tends to drop out if you have more than one device needing it. Us townies live for our wi-fi! :oD

100% recommend this cottage to anyone. Very cosy and has everything you need for your stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulharri...
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“just the best”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

what an amazing place.will be my next choice when i stay again.and i ill book this property again. just fell in love with the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the place was fantastic
Liked least: it so good could be a problem to rebook.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathie L
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Chose to be in the centre of Boscastle instead of Bossiney for a change this year for my birthday visit to Cornwall... 1A is a spacious, well equipped, pleasantly furnished cottage in a great location.. Didn't want to leave - could quite happily live here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandC2014
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage 1a excellent cottage throughout and good location.”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first time staying in The Oil House, 1a Valency Row even though we have been coming to this area since 1987. We were absolutely pleased with the accommodation. Spotlessly clean throughout, all mod cons that you require and the location was ideal for walkers and travelling to various other resorts. Plus we had a small welcome pack on arrival which was very nice touch, thank you. Certainly will be staying again, hopefully next year and a definite recommendation to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the location
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing