We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Oil House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Oil House
Valency Row Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The Old Oil House
Valency Row
Living Room
Open Plan through to the kitchen
The Old Oil House Kitchen
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
The Old Oil House on the Right
Boscastle Harbour
Boscastle Village
Boscastle Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Boscastle, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cathie L
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Chose to be in the centre of Boscastle instead of Bossiney for a change this year for my birthday visit to Cornwall... 1A is a spacious, well equipped, pleasantly furnished cottage in a great location.. Didn't want to leave - could quite happily live here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandC2014
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage 1a excellent cottage throughout and good location.”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first time staying in The Oil House, 1a Valency Row even though we have been coming to this area since 1987. We were absolutely pleased with the accommodation. Spotlessly clean throughout, all mod cons that you require and the location was ideal for walkers and travelling to various other resorts. Plus we had a small welcome pack on arrival which was very nice touch, thank you. Certainly will be staying again, hopefully next year and a definite recommendation to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the location
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawny_kin...
London
2 reviews
“Beautiful and cosy place to call home.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The old oil house in boscastle was beautiful and cosy. The decor was cute cottage meets chic apartment. It was everything you needed it to be. A treat to return to at the end of a day exploring.
Boscastle itself was fantastic, from climbing the rocks, sampling the pubs ales and ciders, to having breakfast and cream teas, and everything within a few seconds to a few minutes walk. Loved it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed in 1B the upstairs apartment which has 2 double bedrooms and a separate bedroom accessed via a spiral staircase thorough the lounge containing 2 single beds and a cot.

All rooms are decorated to a very good standard and the each room has modern TV. Wifi is available although speed is slow. It was extremely clean and well laid out and the kitchen was very well equipped -washing machine, dishwasher, cafetiere, iron etc. Stayed with my wife and kids aged 14,11 and 9 and our puppy. We all loved it. Couldn't be more central and very handy for the pubs/restaurants. Has its own parking space directly outside. Steep stairs to the apartment may not be suitable for elderly/infirm.

I would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent standard of accommodation. Central location. Value for money.
Liked least: No garden for drying wetsuits. A minor gripe.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLB68
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in a lovely village”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a week's holiday at the Old Oil House, situated right in the centre of Boscastle which is a beautiful village and ideal for exploring the North Cornwall coast. As it is all on one floor, the property is compact but very comfortable and has a lovely character. It is very well equipped and had everything we needed to make our stay easy and relaxing, including the allocated parking space right outside. We had a lovely, relaxing week in a lovely setting and I would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, right in the heart of the village.
Liked least: Could hear some noise from the property above.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 85
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing