We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday house”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Oil House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Oil House
Valency Row Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The Old Oil House
Valency Row
Living Room
Open Plan through to the kitchen
The Old Oil House Kitchen
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
The Old Oil House on the Right
Boscastle Harbour
Boscastle Village
Boscastle Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Boscastle, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
drew-davi...
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday house”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled with our teenage Daughter and her friend. The cottage is excellent - lovely and clean and furnished to a very high standard. There was plenty of room for us all with nice bedrooms a wonderful kitchen and spacious living / dining room. Good location in the heart of boscastle.
Must also mention the local pub called the Cobweb which is about 100yds from the house. Great selection of real ales and a fantastic food menu. We had some great meals there and not too expensive either.
A wonderful relaxing weeks holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quite
Liked least: It rained for 20mins 1 day
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joselebee...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised!!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Booked on line and thought the place looked OK from the pics. Was more interseted with the location but when we arrived my elderly father and i were over the moon at the space and standard of furnishings in the downstairs appartment. We particularly liked the spacious kitchen which allowed you to cook proper meals and not feel cramped. The beds were comfy as was the living area and the storage heaters were new to us but it was warm enough to just turn them off. The allocated space worked well for us as we put a cone out everytime we took the car away. A highly recomended accomodation and we will be recomending to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious kitchen
Liked least: That the Sky TV wasnt activated ( a small gripe)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JI1971
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, home from home”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We have just returned from a great week staying at The Old Oil House. The cottage was extremely clean and well decorated - definitely home from home.

Great location for the local pubs, restaurants, shops and harbour.

The only improvement would be to install a dishwasher.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Home comforts
Liked least: No dishwasher, double bed seemed a little on the small side
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Old Oil House - Boscastle”
Reviewed 5 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Oil House very much! We don’t think there could have been anything more that could be done to make the experience any better. We will have no hesitation in recommending the property and may well return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Comfort and location of the property
Liked least: The storage heating can be a bit warm in the day. The weather was a bit hit & miss and we did not want to turn off or leave the roof vents open whilst we were out.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tower_of...
Billingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Full of charm and great location!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We just got back from a fantastic visit to Boscastle. The cottage was lovely inside; well-decorated, very clean, smelled nice. Pictures of the kitchen don't do it justice, either - I was in kitchen-heaven all week! We didn't want to leave! The double bed seemed just a tad smaller than our own bed, so that was a bit of a squeeze, but we still slept alright. We stayed on the ground floor, and other than a small step to get inside it's very accessible - easy on my knee injury.

The location is excellent - right outside your front door there's a small store to pick up some groceries and a few restaurants if you'd rather eat out. There's also other nearby shops with art and crafts and touristy things. We were also very pleased to be able to bring our dog.

One thing to note - make sure you do use the traffic cone provided to protect your parking spot when you go out during the day, otherwise you'll almost certainly lose your space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How beautifully decorated it was
Liked least: The threat of having our parking space stolen
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing