We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B in Boscastle”
Review of Valency B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boscastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Valency B&B
Ranked #11 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We chose the Valency based on the excellent reviews on TA for a five night stay in Boscastle and I can confirm the five star reports are more than justified.
John and Denise are ideal hosts, welcoming, helpful and very knowledgeable about Boscastle and the surrounding areas.
The location of Valency is perfect as its just a couple of minutes walk from the harbour, restaurants etc Also a ideal position to leave the car for a few days and do some coastal walking and again John and Denise have lots of useful information to help you select the right walk for you.
We stayed in the four-poster room which was spotless and had everything, and more, to make your stay very comfortable. The breakfasts were exceptional, freshly cooked to your liking, using the best local produce. A wide range of other options were also available including a delicious raspberry compote we had one morning.
As we enjoyed our stay so much, both at the Valency and in Boscastle, I’m sure we will be staying again (hopefully for another visit this year).
Restaurants in Boscastle I can recommend, as we did not have a bad meal in any of them, were the Riverside, the Napoleon and the Cobweb.

Room Tip: Both B&B rooms are equally of high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We returned for our second visit to the Valency after a fantastic stay last Easter. The Valency is brilliantly situated right in the centre of the harbour, with parking which is so rare in Boscsatle and only a few seconds walk from the Cobwen Inn! The house and rooms are really first class, we stayed in the Blue Room which is to be recommended, but the Four Poster and Studio are also of a very high standard.There are quite a few B&Bs that can be said to be of a high standard but what makes the Valency so very different is the hospitality shown by Denise and John. They cannot be more helpful from the time they are there to greet you to the time you leave, they really do make you feel at home and nothing is of too much trouble. I would very very strongly recommend the Valency to anyone thinking of staying in Boscastle and please make sure you have one of Denise's Cream Teas and enjoy John's breakfasts.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardS98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I woke up this morning to a cold day in Boston. The day was made warmer as I spread some of Denise's red currant jam on my toast, helping me remember Valency and Boscastle. For anyone who is contemplating a trip to Cornwall, Bostcastle is a must. This is especially true for walkers. Moreover, Valency is the perfect place to stay for your trip. Denise and John are both respectful of your privacy and available for any questions. They truly know the area and can provide the best of advice on where to go, how to get there, and how long it will take. The breakfast was superb. If you have special requests, just ask. The bedroom was spacious, spotless, and special. Don't miss this gem.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We chose Valency for a weekend break. The experience was wonderful with a high attention to detail. From the initial booking we felt very welcome. On arrival we were welcomed into Valency, shown to our beautiful room, provided with cups of tea and coffee and introduced to the other guests. Our room, the four-poster was very well appointed, very clean and comfortable - everything you could wish for was there. Breakfast, serviced in the conservatory was delicious with a wide menu; a particular favourite was the fresh smoothie on our second morning. Our hosts was fantastic, so welcoming and helpful with advice on restaurants and help with bus times for our coastal walk. All in all a most wonderful stay and recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milesopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Staying at the very cosy Valency was truly wonderful! In the heart of Boscastle looking down to the harbour this magnificent place is well situated for anyone who appreciates nature, picturesque scenery and breathtaking views. On booking we were offered a winter discount. John and Denise were magnificent hosts, but not overbearing in the slightest, and yet available whenever we needed to ask questions, directions and guidance. Our room and the entire property were spotlessly clean and comfortable. We stayed in the four-poster room and it was so romantic! The exposed stone walls and timber beams with all the little touches gave it additional character and catered for our every need. We could charge our iPod in our room, had free parking in the spacious pebble drive, were shown books and DVD’s to borrow after an adventurous day on one of the spectacular coastal walks – which we could curl up in front of to relax. The en suite shower was clean and roomy. We weren’t disappointed with any of the meals we had in the local restaurants. John and Denise’s breakfasts (plural! Because there was a nice variety and I tried them all) were scrumptious! A really lovely choice and so well prepared and presented. From the specially prepared fruit, yoghurt and granola, homemade bread and jam/marmalade, to the cooked breakfast choice, incl. full English and even smoked fish dishes! All so fabulous and traditional! Served to your table with a smile each morning. We had such a fantastic time that we stayed an extra night and wondered if Denise and John might consider adopting us :) We’ll definitely stay there again when we return to North Cornwall. Tintagel was within a 10 minute drive – glad we chose so well.

Room Tip: The four poster room has a good view down into the valley, towards the harbour. All rooms appeared l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alocinbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boscastle hotels
0.3 km away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
510 reviews
1.2 km away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
60 reviews
0.2 km away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#9 of 16 in Boscastle
32 reviews
0.2 km away
Reddivallen Farmhouse
Reddivallen Farmhouse
#16 of 16 in Boscastle
2 reviews
2.3 km away
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
#7 of 16 in Boscastle
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valency B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valency B&B

Address: Valency Penally Hill, Boscastle PL35 0HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: ₹ 6,181 - ₹ 7,947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely eighteenth-century home, central to beautiful Boscastle, Area of Outstanding National Beauty. Stroll to the famous Harbour, scenic old village, Valency Valley or dramatic coast path. Excellent base for the West Country with Moorlands, Gardens, Heritage sites, Galleries, Rivers and Beaches all within easy reach. Choose a local restaurant, pub, Michelin graded restaurant or drive to an amazing array of venues serving Cornish cuisine. In the evening you might catch one of our glorious sunsets from the rocks at the dramatic harbour entrance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing