We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast spoiled everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn & Spa at Intercourse Village
Ranked #2 of 4 Intercourse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Breakfast spoiled everything!”
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We booked a suite which was small but nice and very clean and practical. We were disapointed right away though by the location. DO NOT expect quietness in this very busy "small" village! (If you are looking for quietness and authenticity amid the Amish countryside of Pennsylvania, book a B&B outside the famous village!)
The pricey suite comes with a supposed fancy breakfast. It is anything but. We were forced to eat with other guests elbow to elbow at 8:30 am, guests who kept their baseball caps on the whole time not caring that several ladies were having breakfast at the same table. And the breakfast! What a joke! They had the "chef", an 18 year-old girl, come and ponpously describe what was already painfully obvious in our plates! Their "5-course breakfast" consisted in the most sugary dishes, starting with a chocolate chip cookie, a cooked and sugary orange, pancakes straight from a shake and pour mix and blueberries from a can... we couldn't eat the rest and left. Fortunately, the next day, having complained, we were given coupons for a free breakfast at the Best Western in Intercourse village. It proved to be one of the highlights of the trip. We were served by very nice (no attitude, no pretention) Menonite waitresses and breakfasted among Amish and Menonite people. The atmosphere was very simple and truer to the spirit of modesty and gentleness of Old Order Amish and Menonites that we had come to see.

  • Liked — Suites were clean
  • Disliked — Location and tyranical Breakfast
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andlexkar, manager at The Inn & Spa at Intercourse Village, responded to this review, 16 December 2009
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your well appointed suite. We really do strive to provide a romantic, relaxing and impeccably clean atmosphere. Guests often comment that they have never stayed in an Inn so clean and well maintained.

In regards to our location, many guests enjoy the advantage of being able to leave their car at the Inn and stroll thru the village with over 50 shoppes within walking distance. Many come specifically to the village to escape the fast pace of the commercialism found on the nearby tourist highway (Rt 30) and enjoy watching the Amish buggies plod along the street.

Our gourmet breakfast served on fine china in the Victorian dining room has become a highlight to our guests that come back year after year for the experience. We do not have a dress code for breakfast since we want our guests to feel welcome and relaxed in their home away from home. Sharing with other travelers around an elegant breakfast table is often one of the best parts of staying at any bed and breakfast, However we do recognize that every guest has unique tastes and needs and we are pleased to offer a variety of options for our guests, We are so glad you thoroughly enjoyed the voucher option at the local restaurant so conveniently located only a block away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    34
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
247
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna, NJ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

I was a little hesitant about staying here because there was only one review on these boards, however AAA rated them a Four Diamond so it made me feel better. After spending the weekend here, I have to say this place was impeccable. We've stayed in some prettyy nice hotels and B&B's and have never found a place cleaner. It appeared as if the rooms were built the day before and we were the first guests. Very nicely decorated, well done five course breakfast and located conveniently.......you are close to Rt 30, across the street from Kitchen Kettle Village and up the road from all the farmland that you can ride through and admire. I'm really at a loss as to why more people haven't posted here. The staff is very friendly, helpful and courteous. The gardens out back are relaxing, with piped in music playing as you walk the path and the porch out front, complete with rockers are fun to sit in and watch the people go by, including the many buggy's. Very pleasant surprise in the country.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No TV in the Bedroom, only the sitting room.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Taletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andlexkar, manager at The Inn & Spa at Intercourse Village, responded to this review, 16 March 2010
We take great pride in maintaining our property.

We are continually getting similar comments regarding the cleanliness of the suites, helpfulness of the staff and a perfect location.

Thanks you for noticing and taking time to write down your kind comments. We look forward to your next visit to our Quaint Amish Country Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
282 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We had the Zimmerman Suite on the second floor which was very comfortable. Aside from two dainty Victorian chairs there was no sitting area in our room but this wasn't a problem as there is a comfortable sitting room downstairs for guests use. There was complimentary bottled water and sodas in the kitchen fridge and the dining room buffet held fresh fruit and pretzels for snacking on. The beautiful grounds and porches were delightful and the location was excellent, right across from Kitchen Kettle Village with lots of great shopping and Kling House Restaurant. There was only one other couple staying at the B&B and they had a Victoria room, complete with jacuzzi, on the third floor. Breakfast by candlelight was really nice, beautifully served in the elegant dining room with lovely china and crystal. Although you were asked the night before for preferences/allergies it was a half-hearted request as the comment "well, chef doesn't tell us what she's making" was the response to my long list of dislikes. I'm sure allergies would be taken much more seriously but, if this is the case, personal dislkes shouldn't even be mentioned. Being a fusspot I made out fine; fresh baked banana bread, vanilla yoghurt with fresh berries and granola, tomatoe/spinach/swiss quiche, cereal course, chocolate brownie served with o.j., coffee, We had only two disappointments; the bedding and the toilet seat. The sheets did not fit the deep mattress sp we ended up sleeping on bunched up sheets during the night. For such an elegant home the toilet seat was a cheap, very flimsy plastic. We would, however, stay here again as the positives FAR outweigh these two negatives.

  • Liked — Location, romantic decor.
  • Disliked — Sheets which didn't fit the deep mattress, poor quality toilet seat.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SengaMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andlexkar, manager at The Inn & Spa at Intercourse Village, responded to this review, 28 December 2009
We take great pride in maintaining our property. We are continually getting similar comments regarding the cleanliness of the suites, helpfulness of the staff and perfect location.

Thank you for noticing and taking the time to write down your kind comments. We look forward to your next visit to Amish country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2007

Called the B&B after miserable check-in at nearby family hotel. Had to find lodging to salvage a romantic get-away. This did the job. This B&B was the first we had stayed at, but will not be the last. The staff was excellent. The food was great and the setting was nice.
A fair amount of the traffic was horse-and-buggy of the Amish going about their business. Great place to stay. Great romantic room and very quiet area.

  • Liked — Food, setting, room.
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmlytrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Intercourse
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
16.8 km away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.8 km away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,873 reviews
9.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
5.8 km away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn & Spa at Intercourse Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn & Spa at Intercourse Village

Property: The Inn & Spa at Intercourse Village
Address: 3542 Old Philadelphia Pike, Intercourse, PA 17534-7008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Intercourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Intercourse
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,498 - ₹ 11,372
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn & Spa at Intercourse Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn & Spa at Intercourse Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn And Spa At Intercourse Village
The Inn & Spa At Intercourse Village Hotel Intercourse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing