We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic local diner, great addition to location.”
Review of Melrose Diner

Melrose Diner
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Isleworth
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 27
Description: A family run restaurant and bar that serves the neighborhood whilst having more sophisticated leanings. 12 tables and 6 seats at the bar allow up to 40 people to enjoy modern American style food with an English twist. Using locally sourced ingredients where possible and making as much in house as is feasible all washed down with British craft beers, wine, cocktails, coffee and milkshakes. Family friendly but with an awesome soundtrack and simple funky design.
Restaurant details
Description: A family run restaurant and bar that serves the neighborhood whilst having more sophisticated leanings. 12 tables and 6 seats at the bar allow up to 40 people to enjoy modern American style food with an English twist. Using locally sourced ingredients where possible and making as much in house as is feasible all washed down with British craft beers, wine, cocktails, coffee and milkshakes. Family friendly but with an awesome soundtrack and simple funky design.
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Newly opened with a fabulous menu. We were looking for somewhere late at night (21:30) and were the last diners in the restaurant; but we were made so welcome. Prawn and crab doughnut starter was so tasty. Whole family loved every dish that was served. Buffalo wings were really hot and the burgers so succulent. Thank you for coming to our rescue as the family were starting to think fast food!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ovalmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angus w, Owner at Melrose Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

So happy to hear that we satisfied you and your family. We are locals who felt the areas needed something like this and your review shows us we are in the right track! Glad you liked the food and service and hope to see again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017

Went to this place twice since it opened in April 2017. Sat at the bar as I was on my own. The staff are friendly. The portions of food are generous.The high ceiling makes the place feel airy and light. Family friendly. However, I do feel it is on the expensive side being a diner.
Had Melrose Mac – two beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese
Buffalo Wings, blue cheese sauce
not disappointed

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rashmi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angus w, Owner at Melrose Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Rashmi- thanks for coming in and returning and thanks for reviewing. We are glad you like what we do and I am particularly happy you sat at the bar as that's my favourite seat. Sorry if we seem expensive but we do try and handmake as much as we can and quality costs a little bit more. We hope you can see the difference compared to cheaper mass produced items. But thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I was super excited to see that a new diner was opening nearby and it's not disappointed.

I've visited twice since it opened and the food has always been great and the staff have all been helpful and attentive. Portions are pretty generous. Their chips are lovely, fresh and crisp (this is always a sticking point for me, so many places fail on something as simple as chips!). I had the Bacon Cheese Royale on both occasions, it's a great burger. Desserts are definitely worth saving room for, they're amazing!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angus w, Owner at Melrose Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thanks for taking the time to put down your thoughts and of course thanks for coming. We are locals who have worked around London and really felt the neighbourhood needed something like this. So glad you agree and look forward to seeing you again. We should also point out we do some great drinks too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Finally a restaurant in the U.K. to rival 'House Of Blues' in the USA! Fun food at its best, and the bar and cocktails are excellent. We had Margaritas, Spicey Buffalo Wings with blue cheese dip and Beef Tacos to start. The Melrose Burgers and an outrageous Hot Dog with bacon, jalapeño & guacamole, with a sides of Beetslaw and Mac 'n' Cheese. All delicious.

So encouraged were we by the starters and main, we decided to go all in for dessert with Vanilla & Malt Milkshake, the Chocolate 'Freak Shake' with Oreos, Brownies and all sorts of extras, and a Pavlova.

All in a lovely 'Diner' setting with a full bar, and barman who knows how to mix a real drink, what more could you ask for, for a fun family meal. Even the music was perfect!

Bravo Melrose Diner. Thanks for a lovely evening out. The kids are begging to go back, see you soon !

Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angus w, Owner at Melrose Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

So glad you liked it and this is some high praise... sounds like you did some serious 'research'! please come back again and bring friends :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Plenty of brunch and good prices. Recommend. New to the area and a nice addition to the parade of shops near the station. Maybe needs some art on the walls.

1  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angus w, Owner at Melrose Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thanks Matthew... we actually put up our first three things on the walls today including a picture of James Melrose Tait - the owners' Great Uncle and whom Alex shares his name with...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melrose Diner also viewed

 
Isleworth, Greater London
Isleworth, Greater London
 
Isleworth, Greater London
Isleworth, Greater London
 

Been to Melrose Diner? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing