We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwell Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oakwell Guest House
Ranked #11 of 121 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed one night at this lovely little B&B, and were made very welcome by Carol and Alec, the whole place was spotless, and I was shocked to hear that the bathroom had been in 4 years, I actually thought it had only just been done. The room was decorated lovely and the bedding was very nice and clean, so much so I asked Carol where she had bought it. We had freeview TV, which my partner was pleased about. The little finishing touches were great, loads of tea,coffee and milk in the rooms, shampoo, shower gel, shower caps, cotton wool etc, nice big fluffy towels, information about places to visit. The breakfast was fabulous and made fresh whilst we were eating our cereals. We were also given a card for free parking, during our visit, which is a great bonus. I can't praise this B&B enough, and we will definatley return, thank you Carol & Alec.

Room Tip: We were in room 4, which was en-suite with a double and a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliput70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for a wonderfull review of our little place, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, we always ask people to place a review, and be honest with it, we are glad you liked the little touches we have, if you can think of anything else please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
51
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

we stayed at the b&b over the weekend for a dance festival with our children carol and alec were very welcoming from the start breakfast was the best i have had in a guest house for a very long time have booked again for next year thanks again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

we had to unexpectedley travel to bridlington carole was very accomodating our last minute trip .
on arriving (which was quite late) I was warmley greeted. the room was nice and clean and decorated extremley nice. tv and free view in rooms aswell as tea and coffee. the breakfast was suberb all fresh and cooked lovely. 10 minutes from the train station ideal location. when ever i need to stop in brid i will be ringing carole and alec. Thankyou for your warm and friendly welcome..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyr202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
We aim to please, & glad that we do, we appreciate all reviews, & are happy that our guests like it and return. So a big thank you from both Alec & myself, we look foreward to seeing you next Feb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great B&B, only stayed one night but it was great, the room was well presented, very clean and tidy, food was excellent, price was great too. I will definitely stay again if i ever go back to Bridlington. It is only about 5-10 minutes from the train station so very ideal if you are coming by public transport.

A few small ideas/pointers that I find would have made the stay even better is rather than to have the guest book which had lots of useful information in it in the drawer it might be better situated on the desk or on the bed, so that guests can have a read of it as soon as they get to their room. Also room 2 which was the room I stayed in the wardrobe could do with moving a bit further across from the door as I noticed when trying to open the top part of the wardrobe it hit the side of the door.

Thank you for a very peaceful stay Carole and Alec.

From

Benjamin

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, the information pack which you refer to is in the draw as there is not enough room on the top, we tried it and people were spilling tea & coffee over it. As for the wardrobe we had just decorated that room and didn't realize we hadn't moved it far enough back, thank you for saying. Hope your bungy jump went ok. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

really enjoyed my stay last week can't praise it enough really from the room we stayed in which had nice clean bedding and being really clean to the top breakfast we was served each morning to the very friendly welcome we recieved on arrival will defiantly be staying there again thanks again carole and alec for your warm welcome from jackie and fred

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carebear64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
We are only to pleased that you had a good time while staying with us, and that you would be coming back. Thank you for your review, it is very helpfull not only to us but anyone looking for a stay in Bridlington. Look foreward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.4 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.6 km away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.5 km away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Malvern Guesthouse
Malvern Guesthouse
#12 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 km away
Ivanhoe Guest House
Ivanhoe Guest House
#8 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 km away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#51 of 121 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwell Guest House

Property: Oakwell Guest House
Address: 84 Windsor Crescent, Bridlington YO15 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,512 - ₹ 5,448
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwell Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carole & Alec welcome you to the Oakwell Guest House, a 6 bedroom all en-suite establishment, only 5 mins walk from the harbour and railway station. Spa Theatre only a few mins walk away. We try to cater for all needs. We are family orientated and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Oakwell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwell Guest House Bridlington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing