We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quiet, clean, but rundown” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willows Inn

Willows Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Industry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Willows Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Industry
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, but rundown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Willows Inn, about 4 miles outside of Beaver, PA, is a little inconveniently located. in a quasi-residential neighborhood. There's nothing nearby that a visitor would want or need - like a gas station or a fast-food joint. But because it's not off an interstate, there are no heavy rigs pulling in and out of the parking lot at all hours. And there's no pool, so there are no families with noisy kids running around outside the window of your room as you are trying to wind down after a hard day's driving through the construction zones that comprise much of I376, I 79, and I90 (all of which we traveled to get to Industry from northeastern NY.) The Willows satisfies my basic requirements for a room: inexpensive ($74 for three adults with a cot in the room), clean, quiet, working plumbing. However, the property seems to have given up on the cosmetics. Weeds poke up through the many cracks in the asphalt of the parking lots. Paint is peeling. The inside of the room, though clean, needs updating. Hole-ridden bedspreads covered our beds, the edge of my blanket was ripped, the upholstery of the two chairs in our room was stained. The bathroom is basic; my only complaint is that the shower, which offers a good flow of water, does not keep a consistent temperature - I guess when the people in the next room decided to use hot water too, ours got cut off. Bars of soap are supplied for free, but if you want shampoo you have to buy a bottle for 10 cents at the reception desk. The Willows Inn seems to be a popular temporary residence for Hispanic laborers working in the area. Several rooms seemed filled with groups of men who congregate outside of some of the rooms. There was more activity (and noise) Saturday night (presumably the men get a break from work on Sundays) than on the Friday night of our stay, when you could hear a pin drop all evening. That said, during sleeping hours, I have never stayed in a quieter roadside motel.

Complimentary coffee (regular; no decaf available) is offered during the morning at the reception desk -- but if it's food you want, you have to make the drive into the outskirts of Beaver, and it's a long drive to make when you are hungry.

Speaking of food, the Willows is mostly all about the plentiful lunch and dinner buffet in the restaurant at the center of the complex. Between the hours of 7:45 pm and 8:15 pm, as the buffet prepares to close for the night, room guests can enjoy it for half price ($6) In its earlier life, the Willows (still a banquet hall) was apparently a genteel place, maybe for the good people of Beaver to host their wedding receptions. But now it hosts a "car cruise" frequently, and I wouldn't want to parade my wedding guests in front of the clusters of Hispanic laborers. I think it's suffering as identity crisis as it slides gracefully downhill, from a nice place for the likes of the Rotary Club to meet to a place for a cheap room and good eats.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
9
8
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

The room smelled so bad from cigarettes I coughed all night. We froze all night even with the thermostat set to 90! The sheets are thin and pulled.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank altecaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Industry hotels

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

I am a very light sleeper and require a very quiet motel room. I stayed 5 nights without even the slightest noise waking me. In fact some nights I slept better than at home. The room was large with a comfortable king size bed, refrig, & micro and kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. The room furnishings were relatively new, attractive and in great condition. Although a small motel, the front desk is open 24 hours.

It would be hard to overstate how accomodating the motel staff was. Every request was acted on quickly and effectively. The staff was friendly, capable, and usually cheerful. The motel owner/manager takes tremedous pride in having a well-run motel and a guest-very-friendly staff. Although staffing is adequate, the manager is frequently around helping out and making sure guests are well-treated and happy. He even lives across the street from the motel and is clearly on-call should there be any problem his well-trained staff needs help with. Knowing that I had never been to this area the manager proactively made a number of sightseeing and restaurant suggestions which helped make the visit that much more enjoyable. Much like the best bed & breakfasts, I was given a very warm and personal welcome when I arrived.

The motel is conveniently located in the safe and friendly town of Industry and is a short drive to the historic city of Beaver and to two china outlets with great values. It is about a 30 mile interstate highway drive to Pittsburg and right in the middle of beautiful rolling hills. Driving around in the immediate area of the motel produced many scenic sights. Despite the convenient location, the motel is in a very uncongested area. There are several locally owned and run restaurants within a 15 minute drive that serve very good home cooking at a modest price.

The motel has a buffet that has to be seen to be believed. For around $7 you get three islands of selections that seemed to total over 60 choices of food. Despite the modest price, it was not the cheap food served at many buffets. There was a generous selection of entrees, including some local favorites like Polish pierogis. It was certainly among the best buffets I have seen and less costly than all of them.

As there was more to do in the area than I had time for I plan to return to Willows Inn in the future.

Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoHomeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Great value, staff are all willing to help in any way. Coffee always waiting for you in the lobby, with a smiling staff member every morning. Buffet lunch and dinner specials to take advantage of (don't forget to show your room key for a discount). The location is perfect, right on Rt 68, quick access to major highways. Summertime car shows are lots of fun, accompanied by great music. I've been back many times now, and have established friendships with this great crew. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riviera60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

400 a week,two star at best hotel with a three star price.where to start,was told one price for food then charged another,when i questioned it was told i must have misunderstood.shower temp all over the board,scalding to freezing.came back from work ,housekeeping left the door wide open.no wi fi in rooms.college kid buffet sat. night.screaming,door slaming,drunk fights in front of our room,front desk did nothing,yelling went on till 2 am.never changed our sheets,heat either on or off,no middle ground.couldn't wait for the week to end so we could leave and we told them what we thought and got a shoulder shrug.never again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuke-roadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Industry
14.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beaver Falls
8.0 km away
My Place Hotel - Monaca / Beaver Valley, PA
7.6 km away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh Area-Beaver Valley-Ctr Township
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Monaca
22.9 km away
Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort
8.2 km away
Comfort Suites Monaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willows Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows Inn

Property: Willows Inn
Address: 1830 Midland Beaver Rd, Industry, PA 15052-1408
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Industry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Industry
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing