We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gainsborough House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gainsborough House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
kidderminster
1 review
“food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The standard of food in ths hotel has gone down in the last 18 months , the breakfast is no longer what it was ,, eggs swiming in water hash browns deep fat fried ??? whats this all about,, sunday carvery used to be good but totaly gone horrible meat chewy ,, will no longer be frequenting sunday roasts ,, sorry guys good food gone bad!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GainsboroughHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
We're extremely sorry and full of shock to hear your opinion of ourselves is not what it was.

We have recently employed a new head chef with a multitude of experience in rosette standard establishments and as such have been receiving more compliments than ever on the quality of our food.

We apologise profusely however that you were not satisfied during your visit and will take your comments on board.

Please do find it in yourself to visit us again as we're certain the standards in our restaurant are not deteriorating and are in fact ever improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    149
    52
    17
    16
See reviews for
72
207
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed for a night away with friends to celebrate my birthday.
The staff were very welcoming from the beginning and made our stay very enjoyable.
The room was clean, modern and met our needs.
The meal in the restaurant was very good and value for money.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and offered something for everyone.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Gainsborough.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay2523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the hotel. The service was excellent with nothing being too much trouble. The room was very spacious, functional and clean. Bathroom was spotless. Had a few problems with air con but these were immediately rectified by reception. Highly recommended. If wanting a view from hotel window ask for park view. The position of hotel is very convenient for all of the Black Country and beyond. Breakfast was more than sufficient, again with special requests catered for with a smile!

Room Tip: Room 17-good. No traffic noise even with window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We recently had Sunday Lunch for my 60th Birthday inviting around 30 people
The food was greatly enjoyed by all who came and the staff looked after us really well They positioned the tables to our request and we had a memorable lunch.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187791Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
180 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is our second stay at this superb hotel. The Service is excellent and rooms very clean and spacious. Can recommend the evening meals and breakfast. Location is good for Worcester and surrounding areas with easy access to motorways. Nothing is too much trouble and staff are very helpful. Good car parking.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4 first time and on this second occasion had room 6, both spacious, clean and warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artdeco61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
4.8 km away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 km away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bewdley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
4.9 km away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough House Hotel

Property: Gainsborough House Hotel
Address: Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY11 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,706 - ₹ 6,821
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gainsborough House Hotel is a listed Georgian house situated in the beautiful county of Worcestershire, providing all the features required from modern day life yet retaining every ounce of its original charm. Just a short walk from Kidderminster town centre and a short drive from the idyllic town of Bewdley, we're perfectly positioned whether you desire a lively shopping experience, the regions businesses or a day of quiet relaxation. Whatever you're looking to get from Kidderminster, Gainsborough House Hotel is the perfect place to call home while you're here. After undergoing comprehensive modernization, every one of the hotels 42 bedrooms delivers unrivalled contemporary luxury. Accompanying these, Gainsborough House Hotel boasts an in-house restaurant serving freshly prepared cuisine, crafted from locally sourced produce by our team of masterful chefs. Our romantic listed house is also available all year round for Civil Ceremonies, Wedding Breakfasts and Evening Receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Gainsborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Kidderminster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing