We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
57
23
6
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
23
6
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maid's quarters within walking distance long term highly recommend it to anyone home away from home place to stay beds were extremely comfortable in town recommend staying here paula loft campus toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Stayed over a Saturday night after a football game. Location is perfect to walk to town or campus. We stayed in the library--the downstairs was adorable, cozy with all basic amenities. Climbing up to the loft is listed as steps--it was more like a ladder. If you are not limber--rent another room.
Lots of noise outside around closing time. The price you pay for being in town.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2121Melissa1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We stayed with our three small children at the Heritage House Suites in Indiana, Pa. To our disappointment, when we had a major problem with the apartment, after one seemingly understanding phone call Paula, the owner, stopped communicating with us and neither answered the phone nor replied to email. The only one we reached was the housekeeper, who said that only Paula could deal with our problem, but that Paula was currently very held up by private issues. We did not follow-up persistently when she did not respond within the first days after we moved out. After a while, when we assumed that the private issues were resolved, we tried more often to reach Paula by phone. Paula never talked to us again except one time when she answered the phone and shouted "Talk to my lawyer!". We received the lawyer's name without further comment when we asked for it by email. To sum it up: Do not stay here if you would like a vacation place where someone assists you in case you have a problem with your accommodation.

If you care to read the long story:
On the second morning of our stay we saw a bat flying inside the apartment (Bell Tower Suites) at about 9 AM. We locked our children in one of the bedrooms and went to look for the bat, but it had disappeared. We examined the one big hole in the wall and the advertised "curved stairwell to nowhere" in the bathroom and assume that the latter has become the bat sanctuary.
Since bats can transmit rabies, which is 100% deadly if you are not immunized before symptoms appear, we immediately contacted Paula and explained that we could not stay there any longer and asked her to have someone try to catch the bat(s) so that they could be examined for rabies. She assured us that she would refund the amount for the remaining stay and inform us about the result of the rabies check if they catch the bat. We packed our bags, moved to a hotel and as advised by Paula returned the key to the housekeeper a few hours later.
This was the last time we had a normal conversation with Paula. We tried to contact her via phone and email but she never answered or returned calls or responded to email. Since one of our children had woken up in the middle of our first night there screaming, and since bat bites often are not visible, the entire family was advised to get rabies shots.
These are a series of shots (very expensive) on 4 different days. We spent two of our vacation days with our children in an emergency room and a clinic, and spent $15,792.99 because Paula refused to look into the bat infestation in the Heritage House Suites.
The end of the story: We then tried via lawyers to receive the compensation, but Paula denies to have ever talked about bats with us and implies that we made up the bat story to have had a reason to move out.
The question remains: why would we get rabies shots for our entire family and lose an entire vacation day hastily moving and looking for a hotel room (ending up further out of town), if we had not seen the bat? And why would we then not tell Paula about it before we move out, especially since we were waiting until she got back to us about the results to get the rabies shots?
Even if we never see a penny from Paula after her ignorant, unprecedented behavior following a terrifying incident for our family at her establishment (not to mention the financial burden and the loss of family vacation days), we hope that this account will help others to re-evaluate whether they are willing to put their health and piece of mind on the line to stay here.

To be thorough, here are pros and cons that are unrelated to lawyer-based communication and bat infestation:
+ the rooms of the Bell Tower Suites are fairly big
+ the A/C works well
+ nice old furniture
- broken antique pieces of furniture with signs that you should not use the furniture - it was only to look at
- the electrical wiring was largely reliant on extension cords
- the steps to the house itself as well as the steps in the stairwell were uneven and crumbling

Room tip: Bell Tower Suite should be avoided if the bat problem has not been resolved.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klingenstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone! We were so thrilled with our room and Tracy's helpfulness. She made us feel so welcome and was so sweet to us. She also made us feel like it was not a bother if we had any questions. Our room was so beautiful and inviting and we had all the amenities of home. I would rate this 10 stars if I could! Thank you Heritage House Suites and Tracy as well for such a pleasant stay. We will be back!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maurabuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

I have had the opportunity to visit heritage house on many occasions. I have attended company holiday parties, bridal and baby showers, rehearsal dinners and a wedding all at this beautifully restored home. Heritage house is an integral part of our community. Paula and her staff are extremely accommodating to make all guests feel welcome. The rooms are clean and the price is affordable. The location, within walking distance of the downtown, is hard to beat. So much nicer than staying an outdated chain hotel. I recommend it to all of my family and friends that are looking for a local place to hold an event or for overnight accommodations. We are very happy and pleased they are located in Indiana.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mbakbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage_House_2, Front Office Manager at Heritage House Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words. I'm so glad that we have earned your repeat patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Some friends and I stayed here for a weekend girls getaway. Each suite had its own kitchen and bathroom and really comfortable beds. It was like taking a step back in time and was very relaxing. We will definitely be staying here again!

Room tip: Loved the Library Suite which had a loft bedroom.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage_House_2, Front Office Manager at Heritage House Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

I'm so glad that we could accommodate your girls weekend and that you enjoyed Heritage House. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews