We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
44
30
18
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
30
18
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubexcellent bandhigh streetreasonable sizefull englishcomfortable bedovernight staystreet parkingsunday lunchcouple of nightsdouble roombeefthe main streetwarm welcomestabledogensuite
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Arrived about 4pm to what had been a busy weekend after a jazz festival in Marlborough so the courtyard was busy with customers and a jazz band who were packing up.Our room was up a steep staircase in the stable block and rather tired with basic and tatty furniture.Bathroom good except extractor fan and toilet flush very noisy.TV plug had failed a safety test but we used it anyway! No parking available but managed to park OK in the street outside as it was a Sunday.Very handy for central Marlborough.Breakfast good.Place was adequate for an overnight stay but felt it was overpriced for what it was.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank hilary504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Be aware, there is no on-site parking - you will have to park in the street, and spaces are hard to come by. This is mainly a drinking pub - heaving on a weekend evening; we had lunch, which was nothing special; accommodation is limited and cramped; the water supply is also prone to failure - tough if you are in the shower. Marlborough is nothing to write home about either.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Uptheante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed the night due to working in the area, and did not know what to expect as a double room was only £55!
Although there's no car park your vehicle will be safe as the Lamb is in a lovely sleepy village.

On arrival I wondered past the bar and was greeted by a lovely member of staff who was quick to complete check in, explain everything and show me to my room.

The rooms are really nice , possibly a renovated former barn ! The ensuite shower room was also nice with decent pressure from the shower and even some free bits and bobs for those that had forgotten something .

English Breakfast in the morning was a huge portion with very tasty sausage however I would recommend that you ask for the bacon to be well done !

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Rurapudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Only one night but very pleasant, No frills accommodation, Great Ales, Good Food, Comfortable Room Upstairs Stable Rooms have very steep stairs which may be daunting for the less agile.Parking may be an issue if you're staying more than one night Would use again PS Free Wifi that works

Stayed: June 2016
Thank TrevorM434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We visited the Lamb Inn on a Saturday in early June, we arrive around 12.15pm and the pub was empty in the bar, we hoped this wasn't a reflection of what was to come...
The Landlady was chatty and spoke to us like we were locals, allowing us to feel really comfortable. Myself and my husband both ordered the same starter of black pudding, sauté potatoes and poached egg... We waited a short while for it to arrive and 'oh boy' we weren't disappointed, it was all served on a dressed salad and was a portion to be proud off, the black pudding was tasty and the potatoes (albeit, not enough of them) were divine, the poached egg was poached to perfection!!!
The starter was thoroughly enjoyed by us both
For main course, my husband ordered the rare beef sandwich doorstep, which arrived with gherkins, dressing, side salad garnish and fries which had their skins on, it's safe to say that it was emensley enjoyed and my husband was stuffed to the brim after devouring it, well worth the £6.95 price tag
I ordered king prawns in garlic, chilli and white wine for my main course, and a side of chunky chips...it tasted great, just the right amount of chilli and garlic and plenty of juice to dip the chunky bread in...if I was going to offer any other comment, it would be that the prawn dish wasn't great value for money, at £8, I would have liked a couple more than 5 she'll off prawns and a choice of some butter for my bread, but this is my own personal choice. The chips were crunchy, tasty and lovely and fluffy inside... And very hot, as was all the other food, which is a huge plus point for us and where a lot of eateries fail
Throughout the meal, the landlady checked in on us to ask if we were happy and enjoying the meal, this was not over the top and was genuine and not intrusive. Another plus point is the beer selection, served from behind the bar, straight from the barrel..very novel and good to see
If I had to describe the surroundings and the food, I would definitely sasay it delivers a rustic feel and is definitely a gem which is hidden well away from the business of the high street
By the time we left, after an enjoyable experience, the bar was filling up with what appeared to be real Marlborough locals, there was a nice feel to this pub and we were made to feel very welcome

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews