We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well appointed cottage in a beautiful area of the...”

Review of Mount View Cottage

Courtyard Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard Entrance
Front Entrance View from Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Courtyard Entrance
Front Entrance
View from Master Bedroom
Kitchen
Dining room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Lounge
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FFK26a
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well appointed cottage in a beautiful area of the country”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed at Mount View Cottage with my family for a short break this summer. Sarah was a wonderful host and made sure we made the most of our visit. The accommodation had all the facilities we needed, with many touches of luxury. Sarah recommended a trip to Bowood House and gardens - w had a fantastic day out there, with the children enjoying the amazing adventure playground.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The local countryside and friendly welcome.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for your great review, we are really pleased you enjoyed the cottage and location. Bowood is a firm favorite with our children so it's great you all enjoyed the trip. Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Ms”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a great week with my 10 year old niece in this lovely cottage. The beds were extra comfy and we had everything we needed. Bathroom really nice with a great shower. Comfortable living and dining rooms and well equipped kitchen. Decor is outstanding, and a lovely courtyard. DVDs, some toys and books were very nice touches, and the welcome pack appreciated.
So many places to visit. We went to Bristol, Dyrham Park, Lacock, Salisbury, Stonehenge, Caen Locks and a boat trip from Devizes. The museum in Devizes is a hidden treasure.
We recommend the Rowdey Cow for a hearty breakfast and the best ice cream around!
Thanks Sarah for a lovely home from home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you for your great review, really pleased you liked the cottage and its facilities. The cat is still wandering over to see your niece each day ! Thanks again and hope to see you in the future. Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonDim...
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in a good location”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed our break at Mount View cottage, Sarah was a friendly and obliging host and we could not find fault with the cottage facilities. The cottage is in an ideal spot for visiting other places and we even walked to Devizes through some lovely woodland. After hunting on the internet we discovered the opening hours for the 'local' pub only to discover they did not serve food on a Monday (the day we arrived) which was a bit of a disappointment. Maybe some more up-to-date information (eg leaflets) in the cottage would be a good idea.

We will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was very clean and comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind review and comments regarding the cottage, it's great you enjoyed the local area as well. We are going to update the local information and leaflets in the cottage and include more details about the local pubs and restaurants. Thanks again and look forward to you returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fergus201...
Chengdu
2 reviews
“Idyllic stay in the countryside.”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Superb place! We stayed almost a week in this cottage outside Devizes because it is located between many attractions (Bath, Oxford, Salisbury, Stonehenge....). So glad we did. The cottage is beautiful, newly renovated, very comfy beds and has everything you need. The main bedroom has a lovely view over green rolling hills. Devizes itself is a great little town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we are really pleased that you liked the cottage and also found it convenient for exploring the area. After completing the renovations earlier this year its great to get feedback like yours. Kind regards Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperite
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Very convenient cottage in Wiltshire close to Devizes.”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Mountview Cottage in Potterne for 12 nights. Sarah is a charming hostess and her cottage was tastefully decorated, clean, fresh and inviting. Sarah had provided a welcome pack in the kitchen. WiFi was available. The beds had very comfortable new mattresses, the sitting room had good TV coverage for Wimbledon and the golf, the kitchen was roomy, dining room seated four comfortably. The newly renovated bathroom was large with bath, toilet and separate shower. We had friends join us for 2 nights, having the extra toilet and basin was very convenient . While the cottage does have steep stairs this was more than made up for by the views and amenities. Potterne was a great base to explore the Caen Lochs, Cheddar Gorge, Bath, Bristol and all the National Trust properties in the surrounding areas. Devizes (5 minutes drive) has several large supermarkets, market place, museum and wharf on the canal where you can take a 2 hour narrow boat trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Car access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you stay and you were missed after you left. We had all got quite used to you being next door. I am glad the cottage met all your requirements and based on your review I will make a note that the stairs are quite steep on our advert. Best wishes and kind regards Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing