We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My favourite place to stay in Wiltshire”
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
The garden at West View House is a real sun trap.
A lovely bright room with a McCarron and Co kitchen and granite worktops. All appliances are Miele.
The kitchen is very well equipped with just about anything you will need.
The dining area seats 6-7 people comfortably.
The sitting room, which is south facing, so light and sunny has two comfy sofas and an armchair.
A beautifully light landing with a sofa. A pleasant place to read or just sit and look at the church
Bedroom 1, has a king size bed and plenty of storage. The view is to Devizes castle.
Bedroom 2. Another bright sunny room.
Bedroom 2 has both a king size and a single bed. Ideal for a couple or for children to share.
Bedroom 3, which is downstairs has a double bed.
The family bathroom.
There is also a shower room.
Aerial view of West View House.
Devizes Castle - Winter view from West View House.
View of St John's, Norman church from the landing.
View to St John's church from the garden. The church was built in the Norman era.
Sunset at West View House
Wadworth shire horses deliver beer to all the local pubs and hotels. A brewery tour is a must!!
Caen Hill locks; there are 26 of them! Take a boat trip on the canal!
The Kennet and Avon canal is a wonderful place to walk or cycle.
Bath on the river Avon
The beautiful city of Bath
Avebury, with it's neolithic stones is just a few miles away.
Part of the Avebury stone circle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kerr2015
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“My favourite place to stay in Wiltshire”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My friends and I are frequent guests of West View House and always have an amazing time. The beds are unbelievably comfortable, the house always in immaculate condition and Sue and Richard are ever so kind.
I highly recommend this house - it feels countryside (to a londoner at least) but has an amazing town a stone's throw away!
Definitely returning soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing condition of the house & beds
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review. So pleased that you all enjoyed yet another stay at West View House and we look forward to seeing you again perhaps later in the year!
Best wishes - Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence N
Oliver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You couldn't ask for more!”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Our family of 5 traveled Europe for 10 weeks this fall. Westview House earned the top mark for accommodation from us and our three teenagers. Sue and Richard were very welcoming and helpful. The place is exceptionally well appointed, very spacious and neat as a pin. The location could not be better as it is within 2 minutes walking distance from the town market, shopping, restaurants and pubs. The courtyard entrance provides all the privacy one could want plus a lovely sitting area in the manicured yard. Westview House is the perfect base for travelers day tripping to the popular sights in the area, keeping in mind that Devizes itself should also be explored. We were so pleased to have stayed at Westview house as our first stop on our European vacation, but knew when we left it would be difficult to beat this accommodation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, space, attention to detail. Lamb's Pub!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
So pleased to hear that your mammoth family trip was such a success! It was a pleasure to meet you all and thankyou so much for your wonderful review of West View House. We try very hard to keep everything in the house in good order, so that all our guests have an enjoyable stay and it is a real spirit lifter to hear that all our hard work is appreciated.
We will certainly look you up if we ever find ourselves in Canada.
Very best wishes to you all.
Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C
Saar, Bahrain
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Superb As Always”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We are regulars at this house and for good reason; its a great house in a great location for us - we used to live in Devizes and its great for catching up with our friends still there. Well-equipped kitchen I lust after for my own house, the worktop is a solid piece of pegmatite and beautiful to behold. Beds are comfy and the house is warm and cosy and we use the landing as extra sleeping space (Sue and Rich provide the bed for this), so we can get 7 in comfortably in the two doubles, and twin room, plus landing. The Lamb Inn (one of Devizes finest) is so close that you'd be hard-pressed to not be able to navigate your way home both blind and blind-drunk. I hate reviewing this house so well as it only makes it more difficult to rent myself, but it really does have everything going for it, and Sue and Rich will do all they can to make you feel special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: Nothing I can remember
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2015
Thanks so much for your very descriptive, positive and wonderful review. Can only apologise that I forgot to leave the extra bed for you but you obviously found it, plus bedding. Look forward to meeting you all in the summer. Will be in touch shortly re requested dates.
Happy new year to you all.
Best wishes - Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O
2 reviews
“One of the best rental properties I've stayed in”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The house was better than expected, even though all the reviews I read were good, well furnished and equipped with all the little extras that make such a difference to a place. Our hosts were very welcoming and made us feel at home. The rooms were all well finished, good quality furnishings, comfortable beds and linen with everything you could need when catering for yourself. The location is perfect for the town of Devizes, just a short walk to the marketplace. Our trip was for a family get together before Christmas and we were able to entertain the family at our house which really made it feel like a home from home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2014
It was lovely to meet you and we were so pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay in Devizes. Thankyou for the lovely review. We try really hard to keep the house up to date and comfortable for our guests. The big advantage of being next door is that we can deal with any problems people may have quickly.
If you would like to book again in the future we'd love to hear from you.
Hope the long journey home wasn't too gruelling!
Have a great Christmas and New Year.
With best wishes
Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johninpar...
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the West View House in Devizes. The house is just perfect as the owners have thought of everything... beds are comfortable, sheets and towels good quality, the excellent and well equipped designer kitchen, lots of space, excellent wifi, walk right into town, dedicated parking space. We could not have asked for more... it has it all... do not hesitate to book.

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Many thanks for the lovely review. So pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay in Devizes and if you would like to stay again in the future we would be very pleased to hear from you.
Best wishes - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 249
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing