We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top Quality”
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
The garden at West View House is a real sun trap.
A lovely bright room with a McCarron and Co kitchen and granite worktops. All appliances are Miele.
The kitchen is very well equipped with just about anything you will need.
The dining area seats 6-7 people comfortably.
The sitting room, which is south facing, so light and sunny has two comfy sofas and an armchair.
A beautifully light landing with a sofa. A pleasant place to read or just sit and look at the church
Bedroom 1, has a king size bed and plenty of storage. The view is to Devizes castle.
Bedroom 2. Another bright sunny room.
Bedroom 2 has both a king size and a single bed. Ideal for a couple or for children to share.
Bedroom 3, which is downstairs has a double bed.
The family bathroom.
There is also a shower room.
Aerial view of West View House.
Devizes Castle - Winter view from West View House.
View of St John's, Norman church from the landing.
View to St John's church from the garden. The church was built in the Norman era.
Sunset at West View House
Wadworth shire horses deliver beer to all the local pubs and hotels. A brewery tour is a must!!
Caen Hill locks; there are 26 of them! Take a boat trip on the canal!
The Kennet and Avon canal is a wonderful place to walk or cycle.
Bath on the river Avon
The beautiful city of Bath
Avebury, with it's neolithic stones is just a few miles away.
Part of the Avebury stone circle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kevins196...
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top Quality”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Immaculate 3 bedroom cottage in a central location.
Very impressive kitchen though, of course, we ate out every night.
The danger is you may fall asleep on the very comfortable sofa's leaving the bedrooms and the equally comfortable beds unused.
Officially, 2 parking spaces for guests but ask nicely and I would have thought another could be catered for.
2 mins walk to the market square. 4 mins walk to Tesco Metro and Sainsbury's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and if you would like to make a return visit we would be very happy to hear from you.
Best wishes - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely kitchen and location
Liked least: Sunday morning bell ringing in the church
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Thankyou for giving West View House such a positive review. We try very hard to keep the house to a good standard and want our guests to feel totally at home during their stay. If you would like to stay with us again in the future we would be really happy to hear from you.
Best wishes - Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle...
Pitmedden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, classy home in great location.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in August 2013

West View House is a real home from home (but more luxurious than home!) which perfectly catered for our group of 4 adults and 3 children. Richard and Sue are excellent hosts, and very handily live next door if you ever need anything.

The children loved the house and enjoyed having a large bedroom to share together.

Devizes is a very good location for exploring around and about, lots of sketching opportunities if you have an artist in your midst too.

We loved our holiday at the house so much that, before we had even left, we had booked it again for the same week in 2014, and are really looking forward to being back there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness, well fitted kitchen and large dining table, garden outside, large landings that the children loved playing on, location close to the town centre and our local friends.
Liked least: There wasn't anything that we didn't like!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay so much that you are coming back again this year.
Looking forward to seeing you all again in August.
Best wishes - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger D
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect choice for our special occasion”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We chose West View House not just for its location, but also for its suitability for a fifteen-person family party to celebrate our Ruby Wedding anniversary, with room for accommodating people overnight where necessary. Sue and Richard were wonderfully friendly and helpful, with Sue providing lots of additional crockery for our party, and making us all feel very welcome. After the party on the first day, the two of us stayed for a week.

The house is a delight; large, bright, tastefully decorated and well furnished. The kitchen is superb. Nothing has been forgotten. The location is amazingly quiet, despite the close proximity to the main road and the shops, and Devizes is a fascinating place.

We couldn't have chosen better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness
Liked least: The weather, but we won't blame Sue and Richard for that!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review. We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you had a great family Christmas and perhaps hear from you in the future.
With very best wishes - Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annieweat...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect, prefect, perfect”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Five friends and I go away for a weekend get together every year. This years choice was brilliant. The location was absolutely spot on as we could walk to the shops, pubs and restaurants. So no one had to stay tea total. Devizes is a lovely little town and well worth discovering and West View is the perfect locationto do that from. 10mins walk to the Wilts and Berks canal and those beautiful Caen Hill Locks. Lots of local produce suppliers and well known stores all within walking distance.
The house itself was immaculatly furnished and fitted with top quality furniture and fittings. If I had one thing negative to say about West View it would be the fact I had to leave. I could have happily stayed. Sue and Richard were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Sue let us lie in on the Sunday because she hd time to clean for the next guest on the Monday, never had that before.
I can't recommend this holiday cottage highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
Thankyou for your wonderful review. We do try very hard to keep everything in the house up-to-date and perfect for all our guests. It is so nice when we have such positive comments, which make all our efforts worthwhile.
Best wishes
Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing