We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
382
249
73
33
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
382
249
73
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews croquet lawn westonbirt arboretum friendly hotel duty manager hot water breakfast and dinner short break stayed for nights booked this hotel real ale night break local pub kippers enjoyable stay room was spacious cream tea biscuits
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 754 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Just had four amazing days in The Mayfield .The staff made us feel at home from the moment we stepped inside and nothing was too much trouble for them .We stayed in room 12 and it was spacious and spotless . The bed was one of the comfiest we have slept in , so comfy in fact we had to set our alarm for the last three nights to stop us oversleeping......Breakfast was first class , and the service was the same .The evening meals were as goodnas we have eaten anywhere , cooked to perfection with an excellent wine list to chose from .....It really is the perfect base to explore the Cotswolds but beware !........The Hotel , the grounds and the staff make it the sort of place you just might want to spend your days there relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillsteeples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We booked a Superior Twin room (29) for one nights stay for us and our little Pug. We were greeted by Graham on the front desk and from that point on we were very impressed by all the staff at the Mayfield. The room was excellent, clean , well appointed, excellent walk in wet room en-suite. We had an excellent evening meal and our Pug was catered for in the snug. Food was great and so was the service. Breakfast was the same, full English and Continental whatever takes your fancy.
All in all a very good family run hotel with excellent staff, we will definitely return for more visits.

Room Tip: Main building has character (older) and annex is newer.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stopped off late one evening as a family of 4 on our way home from Cornwall up to NW England looking for a room and the welcome was second to none. A room was sorted out last minute and nothing was too much trouble. The welcome was perfect as was the friendlyness shown throughout our one night stay. The room was perfect and very comfortable. The location and surroundings gorgeous. The breakfast very nice. Will definitely use this hotel for a suitable stay in the Cotswolds again. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Over night stay in the Cotswolds , last minute booking and we were very lucky to find this place . Beautiful weather so we were able to have dinner in the garden overlooking croquet lawn . Couldn't fault the food or accommodation . Delightful dog friendly cottage in courtyard , very pleasant accommodating staff will definitely return . Amazing walks around Melmsbury too with historic places of interest .

Stayed: July 2016
Thank ToniJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We paid for a Superior Double room and were given room 11. The pressure of the hot water was extremely low and almost made the shower redundant. The bed was extremely soft and made for an uncomfortable nights sleep

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews