We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,252)
Filter reviews
1,252 results
Traveller rating
924
207
73
29
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
924
207
73
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bybrook restaurant the cottages afternoon tea the main house michelin star tasting menu junior suite four poster bed gin bar beautiful hotel grounds are stunning walk in shower cottage room special occasion picturesque village wedding guests luxury hotel
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 1,252 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This is a great hotel at the south of Cotswolds in Castle Combe.
The facilities are great- the old mansion house as well as the cottages. The grounds are very nice with beautiful gardens while the surrounding area is ideal for walks.
If you like to golf there are good options.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, try to accommodate you.

The breakfast is a must! With fresh ingredients locally sourced (you can see the chicken coop within the grounds of the hotel).

The restaurant can be quite busy so you might have to book before your trip.
You can also enjoy the hotel pub at the village. There is also the option of causal dining but with limited options- you can ask for an a la carte menu from the main restaurant.

You can enjoy a drink at the hotel bar by the fireplace-great collection of gin!!

Tip: the village is very quaint and picturesque but there are not many things to see apart from enjoying your walk.

Tip: The staff at the hotel can suggest routes for walking or nearby towns/villages that you can explore.

Tip: There is a trunk of toys for kids to play with, so your little one can enjoy their time.

Tip: there are few different rooms at the ground floor of the hotel that you can sit and relax- having a coffee/tea or read your book.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank EvanKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear EvanKar,

Thank you for the great feedback and I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us.

I hope we see you again soon.

Best regards,

Stephen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel is exquisite! The grounds are beautiful and the room we stayed in was super cosy and everything was great!
Wanted to stay for longer!!

The breakfast tasted lovely and the little village is so quaint and I felt like I was miles away out in the sticks and not just a few miles from Bath!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mizzy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Mizzy31,

Thank you for the great comments and I am glad you enjoyed your time with us.

We obviously wasn't sure why we only get a 4 out of 5, if you read this do let us know if there was anything we could have done better.

Best regards,

Stephen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Great one night stay at The Manor House Hotel to celebrate our engagement. Cottage room was one of the best we've stayed in, with a really interesting original stone bathroom. Fantastic in-room amenities and wonderful evening meal and breakfast in the Bybrook restaurant.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrCGwynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Dr Gwynne,

Many congratulations to you both!

I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the lovely comments.

I really hope we get chance to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Stephen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 times now the hotel is amazing The service is outstanding from the moment we arrived We have had different rooms each time and they have all been wonderful We just cannot fault this hotel
We ate in the restaurant for our evening meal and breakfast both were fantastic
We hope to visit again soon

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jonlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Jonlaura,

Great to have seen you again and thank you for the lovely comments.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Stephen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We arrived at 1pm on the Friday and were greeted and fussed over and the car was valet parked. The room was ready and we were installed in 5 mins. We were well looked after all weekend. The staff are cheerful and competent. I have to single out the bar staff for praise. They were so entertaining and attentive. The cocktails were made to perfection.
Food in the Bybrook restaurant is right up there with the usual Michelin fare. The quail starter was one of the best plates I've ever eaten.
Always leave wanting more and we did, on the Sunday morning. This may all sound very rose tinted but we genuinely loved it. It's our second visit and we'll find an excuse to come back. Amazing value, we did it on secret escapes for £650 for 2 nights in a plush room with Michelin dining both nights. If you get the chance tgen book it.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Christopher B,

Thank you for the great comments and it was great to have seen you both again.

I just hope we can try and encourage you to come for another visit.

Best regards,

Stephen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews