We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,588)
Filter reviews
1,588 results
Traveller rating
976
376
151
54
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
976
376
151
54
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free entry freshly baked cookies great golf course golf buggy shelburne restaurant driving range adventure playground main restaurant afternoon tea aromatherapy shower balcony room luxury hotel birthday treat lovely hotel relaxing stay lovely setting little touches
Filter
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 1,588 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2016

This is a fabulous hotel with great facilities. I booked the Landsdowne Suite and it was a memorable experience. A superb room with everything you need for an enjoyable stay. We ate in The Brasserie where the food was very good but the atmosphere a little rowdy as it is the clubhouse for the golfers and football was on TV. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and good service.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Owen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Thank you for your excellent feedback, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the Lansdowne Suite and also the food and service.

We hope to welcome you back to Bowood in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

A night away for a birthday treat, the hotel is lovely it is slightly frayed around the edges though. The spa wasn't as special as the website suggests, it was a bit small and missing the little touches which would make it just right.
Dinner and breakfast were nice but again I was expecting more, which I have had from other hotels especially for the price. It's not too expensive it's just I've had better service and nicer food for slightly less. It just seems something is slightly off the boil at this place. But again beautiful surroundings though.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yoofoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We will take your comments on board, as it is only with the help of such feedback, that we can continually improve on the service and experience offered to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

A group of 8 of us, 4 husbands and wives, took the Sunday Driver package to play golf on Sunday pm and Monday am and stay overnight in the hotel and eat in the lovely Shelburne restaurant. The golf course and arrangements were very good, the hotel is excellent and the meal s in the restaurant (dinner and breakfast) top class. The service and friendliness of all the staff were excellent. Its not often that I write a review where I don't make a suggestion how one aspect or another could be improved, but apart from my putting(!) there was nothing to do better. Great place to stay for a overnight golf break and really top class facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peterandchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

What wonderful feedback! We’re so pleased that you had such an enjoyable golf break with us and found our facilities top class.

We will pass on your excellent comments regarding each part of your stay, including the service and friendliness of all the staff and we hope very much to see you back at Bowood in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Very disappointed booked for our wedding night champagne and card.very nice touch but self service cooked breakfast and not freshly cooked to order in a hotel charging this ammount of money per room was very poor have stayed in cheaper hotels than this where you had menu for breakfast and your order was taken and breakfast freshly prepared

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 830philv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience. We have taken your comments on board and we hope you will allow us to tempt you back in the future for a more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Henrietta 45: This is the third year in which my daughter and my friend's son have delighted "the mums" by giving us tokens at Christmas for an overnight stay at Bowood Hotel, inclusive of evening meal and a half hour massage.
We just love it!
Without exception, the staff are exceptional, and help make our stay an incredible, memorable experience.
This time we went n the Woodland Walk: absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank henrietta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Thank you for your excellent feedback which we were delighted to read.

We have passed your comments on to all staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews