We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

A lovely modern hotel. Quite a good sized room on the 3rd floor, spotlessly clean. Plenty of good quality tea & coffee, plus some lovely homemade biscuits, and gorgeous fluffy bathrobes. Staff all seemd very nice - all professional and very curteous. I had a 25 minute massage in the spa - Jade was excellent, and I can't reccommend her highly enough. I didn't use the pool as I'd forgotten my costume, but the spa girls did try to find me one. Alas, it was too small.
The bar and library areas are very relaxing. Bar prices are a little expensive, but again the service was good.
We ate in the Clubhouse Brasserie. They had no record of our reservation, but found us a table in the very packed restaurant within a few minutes. The food was very good - once it arrived. The staff were obviously busy - it was the Jubilee Bank Holiday Monday - but everyone had to wait an awfully long time for food. A couple of the waitresses didn't even seem bothered about trying to rush - and the Manager seemed to be getting rather annoyed. A shame really, but I'm sure it's not always like that
Breakfast in the main restaurant was a very relaxed affair. A good selection of buffet on offer, and a hot breakfast is waiter service.
We also had access to Bowood House and gardens, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Had a Jubilee afternoon tea in the restaurant at the House and it was delicious. I highly reccommend the scones!
All in all a very relaxing overnight stay - marred a bit by the fact that so many people seemed to let their children run riot and do very little to control them. Our next visit will be in September, so all the children will be back at school.

Room Tip: A room on the third floor overlooking the golf course. Geese and a herd of deer first thing in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolJue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    282
    119
    38
    28
See reviews for
241
504
12
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed one night at a stopover to break the long journey back from Cornwall; took them up on what looks like a fairly popular deal with a room, dinner for two and breakfast for about £200 - I get the impression this price moves around a bit. Looks like a fairly new build hotel but doesn't look out of place; the upshot being the hotel is smart, clean and well looked after. Set in a large country park/golf course its very quiet; had an excellent sleep. Rooms were immaculate, with a decent sized bed, good quality linen, and a bathroom with both a separate shower and bath. The "balcony" rooms aren't quite what you expect...the balcony is a small 2 foot ledge you can stand on rather than somewhere to sit out; we paid more for this type of room, which was a waste.

The bar was OK, made infinitely better by the outside terrace catching the sun all day and into late evening. Service at the bar was a little hit and miss.

Two types of dining (with difference prices); the Brasserie or the Shelburne Room for 'fine' dining. We picked the Shelburne Room option which offered three courses, from the full a la carte menu, drinks not included in the price. Food was good, supported by a decent but not silly wine list. Service was efficient and relatively informal; helped to provide a setting that was suitable for couples as well as family/friend groups. Children were noticeable by their absence (I don't think they discouraged them, but the guests were a mixture of older family groups, friends and couples).

The spa was a little bit of a disappointment... wasn't horrible or anything but given all the space and the gorgeous weather would have been nice to be able to lounge outside; a small courtyard with cafe tables/chairs was all there was. Pool was nice, with a small jacuzzi attached, along with steam and sauna rooms. And just in case you're wondering, the aromatherapy shower is a poolside shower that smells.

All in all a good hotel which I'd recommend to others.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the balcony; its not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

A group of us visited the spa for a friends 50th Birthday. A good time was had by all. We were made to feel welcome on arrival and robes, slippers and towels were provided. You need a £1 coin for the lockers.
The gym is well equipped with modern machines and free weights, kettle weights, palates balls ect. Something to suit all. The view from the gym is beautiful, all be it on a sunny day it makes you want to abandon the gym and run around the grounds of the hotel.
The pool was great. The temperature of the water is just right and the pool although not big is suitable to swim lengths in.
The whirlpool attached to the pool is hot and relaxing. There is a dry Swedish type sauna and a steamy aromatherapy one, both were great. I won't spoil the fun of the shower in this area but its a must do.
The changing rooms provide body wash and moisturiser and there are hair dryers available.
We had a fruit platter at the beginning of the day and lunch. Both were perfect in presentation and taste.
Our group of six all felt that the experience was well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valashby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Great location and very pleasant public areas with choice of places to sit and read the papers after a good breakfast - choice could be a bit wider but at least the food is fresh cooked and not those awful heated tureen style things you get in so many places. Staff were lovely although somewhat (very) inexperienced. My major criticism is that golf clubs are 'not allowed' in your room so when you come in wet and bedraggled you don't have the chance to sort your gear out and dry it off. The owner is clearly not a golfer and must be worried we would take practice swings or play in the room ! I play a lot of golf and this is only the second time in many many years that I have had to leave the clubs wet in the car. Would not stay again for that reason.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aluakea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We have been to this hotel twice this year, once in Winter and once in Spring. Both experiences were wonderful. We travelled with our 2 young children. Rooms are spacious, with extras you'd expect in a 5 star hotel - fluffy robes, slippers etc - and that included the children too! It is clean, spotless with soft, stylish decor. Staff are super helpful. The pool area nice. The main restaurant is great for a grown up meal. Children are best eating in the golf club bistro or in the library. The kids menu at approx. £5.50 for 2 course is great value. More choice would be good but if you ask they can often cater for something different off the bistro menu. In summer take a complimentary golf buggy ride over to the adventure playground, which is simply incredible for those aged between approx. 4 and 12 years. Really challenging and fun, but also safe. Younger kids are catered too with smaller equipment and a soft play area (didn't check that out). All in all a real gem of a hotel which manages to be both child friendly whilst still feeling luxurious and 'grown up'. Great whether you go with or without the children. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki_TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
7.2 km away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
21.8 km away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
14.4 km away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
14.2 km away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
15.0 km away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,558 - ₹ 17,432
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All bedrooms and suites are decorated in a Contemporary English Country house style and incorporate plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. Dine in the stunning 82 seat restaurant and have a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring wood burning fires. The spa offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing