We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Mr” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beechfield House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beechfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We discovered this hotel last year (2011) and had wonderful cream teas in a relaxed atmosphere. We had the privilege of being able to stay for 5 nights to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, and we were treated like royalty. The ALL the staff were friendly and helpful whilst being efficient. The humour was a breath of home from home. We would recommend a stay here (or the cream tea) to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyEdwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted to have you as our guests again, this time for your 40th anniversary. Hopefully we will see you before a return visit for your 50th?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    114
    37
    20
    5
See reviews for
184
287
6
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

If you are looking for a place to have afternoon tea, then Beechfield House Hotel is the place!!
A wonderful country House Hotel set in beautiful grounds, and lovely interior too.
I have enjoyed Afternoon Tea 3 times at this establishment, and every time has been a total joy.
Always impressed by the high standard of homemade cakes and scones and general presentation is always very pleasing, with the extra special touches- often with fruit and sugar spun details. Lovely white china and fresh linen finishes it off perfectly- one of the best Afternoon Teas int he south west for sure!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerofage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your review. It is particulary nice to get such warm feedback from a regular guest. Hopefully afternoon tea will be possible outside soon on our beautiful sheltered terrace, sun permitting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilts uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

beautiful victorian hotel set in lovely grounds - rooms a generous size & very clean with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen tv huge comfy bed, didnt eat here but resturant looked nice & welcoming, easy access to Bath & all Wilts attractions ie Stonehenge, Avebury, etc paid £120 for a double room for one night

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pippashouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you - hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We booked this hotel at short notice (5 days) and the staff automatically offered us a last-minute discount rate without being asked. Of particular interest to us was that the hotel advertised itself as dog-friendly (£15 surcharge). Having had a long walk throughout the day we were met with a smile on arrival and shown around the hotel before being shown to our room. This was comfortable and warm with plenty of space for a dog-crate. Dinner in the evening was well portioned and varied in choice and met with both of our tastes. There were children also in the restaurant but they were well behaved and presented no problem. After dinner we had a drink in the bar and the staff were chatty and engaging. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful, tasty and of varied selection. I am not sure that I would have paid the full price but due to the discount offered and the friendly and caring attention of the staff this was excellent value. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are always pleased to welcome dogs to the hotel and have ground floor rooms in the coach house which are ideally suited. As you discovered there are some very pleasant walks from the hotel and for the more energetic it is possible to walk along the Avon to the nearby NT village of Lacock. A taxi can be booked for the return jourey after a pub lunch or dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Very disappointed mislead into buying a dinner bed and breakfast package with longleat package then when I checked out all meals had been charged, I questioned this and was basically accused of lying, I had even phoned them to re check after receiving confirmation email, they simply said this wasn't the case and I had extra £300 to pay on top of the agreed amount.
Also claim to be family friendly but again if you are travelling with children that make a sound or struggle to sit still for a 2 hour meal then definatly don't recommend, we were even asked to leave the restaurant as it was getting busy and my children were playing with Easter eggs placed in the restaurant. Food was nice although odd combinations macaroni with fillet beef? and £7.50p for beans of toast for a child slightly overpriced?!? Other customers complained about children being there and where moved to a private dining room yet we were asked to leave by a male waiter. I have never had to complain before I was very upset and yes they favoured the member of staff that denied ever discussing the booking with me. With a simple we are sorry I had to pay and be made to feel like I was lying for a cheaper bill.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
It was very dissapointing to read your comments and hard to understand. As I explained to you on checkout you booked our Longleat special break. It clearly states on our website and in our confirmation letter that this is a B&B package. I truthfully cannot see that there is any ambiguity in any of the information regarding this. You said yourself you thought the price of the package was incredible value! Prior to receiving your bill you also said that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay and had recommended us to other visitors at Longleat the previous day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beanacre
10.8 km away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
6.8 km away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
7.1 km away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
8.4 km away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
9.4 km away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechfield House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechfield House

Property: Beechfield House
Address: | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Beanacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,382 - ₹ 19,985
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four AA Red Star country house hotel, near to Bath, Longleat, Lacock and Stonehenge. The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous in the summer, whilst in the winter open fires are as warm as the welcome. Enjoy the beautiful grounds, traditional afternoon tea, fine dining or a beauty treatment with natural 'Pure Fiji' products. Friendly yet professional staff complement this wonderful building. Free Superfast dedicated Fibre Broadband Wifi is available throughout the hotel, terrace and walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Beechfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant And Gardens
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant & Gardens Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield Hotel Beanacre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing