We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as expected”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Amesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My wife & I stayed here for a couple of nights at short notice, so we didn't have a lot of choice, and I was a little fearful given recent reviews. However, I would say that it was scruffy, rather than unclean, service was good and friendly, and food quality was just to say better than average. Advantage was town centre, yet very little noise.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed here for about 2hours whilst ourselves and our company tried to find us somewhere else to stay, my collegues all agreed that we would rather spend the night in the car than sleep there, it was damp, musty, dirty, and cobwebs everywhere.
Do not stay here if you value your health.

Room Tip: None of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smudgebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Was sent to this hotel if you call it that by our company. Upon arrival we had to go to the bar to get someones attention so we could actually check in. Our booking paperwork said double with bath, i was give box room singles with bath. When walking up the stairs you were hit with a damp musky smell with a hint of smoke and cooking fat. Upon entering the room it worsened. When examining the room there was cobwebs and dust everywhere, condensation and mould around the windows, grimey marks around the bath. The beds were extremley hard, stains on the floor and the white shower curtians looked like some one had run out of toilet paper and improvised with them.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bgw1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

As the title states the best thing about this hotel was leaving it! Our tv didn't work, the shower was broken, door hanging off the wardrobe, room not hoovered, mould around the shower, wallpaper hanging off, couldnt park in the car park and everything is on a slope which just looks weird! Do yourselves a favour and stay well away from this place. It is horribly overpriced, there is nothing about this place that screams £65 a night, £6.50 maybe. I can't stress enough how bad this place is, STAY AWAY !!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyspurs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed there recently for 2 nights. Looks quite shabby from the outside/car park. Inside it's no different. Obviously a very old building, but need's doing up urgently. Already booked in by my brother(single room) me & another brother had a twin room(no 4).
The room was in a very poor state, one bed had a rolled up pillow under one corner of the bed, the other corner had 2 x bits of wood under it. Supposed to be non-smoking but you could smell smoke as you entered, complete with cigarette burn holes in the cushion by the window. Bath had several chips in the enamel, wallpaper hanging off the wall.
Breakfast was ok, we had dinner their the 2nd night & i ordered the beer-battered cod & chips. It turned up 5 mins later, obviously straight out of the freezer, it was not very good. Good selection of beer & the staff behind the bar were excellent. Would i stay here again, not if i could help it. The noise from the street below on the sat night was horrendous, screaming teenagers.

Room Tip: Don't have a room that overlooks the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oysterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
0.6 km away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
0.1 km away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
328 reviews
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
5.0 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
317 reviews
11.7 km away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 19 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amesbury
Price Range: ₹ 4,156 - ₹ 7,598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Amesbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing