We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful - staff are shocking!”
Review of Blue Bell Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wentbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wentbridge B&B and Inns
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful - staff are shocking!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I had been advised that the food at this pub was good but I'd been warned at how unfriendly the staff were & they weren't joking! A scowl from the moment we walked through the door was unmistakable. We were really looking forward to our nice Sunday carvery, however the layers of butter added to everything ruined the taste. Even the stuffing was brought out with a scoop of butter unmelted on top. We're never going again & we think the only reason its busy is that who doesnt like the idea of a remote pub near the country, I doubt that they have many repeat customers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 101Andie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    17
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
16
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We are not locals, but chose to visit this pub whilst staying with family. I made a reservation in advance and when we arrived we were just told to sit at the third table on the left - no smile of friendly greeting at all.
Eventually, the unfriendly waitress came to take our order - we assume she had, as she just stood at the end of the table with her pad and pen poised. She did not speak the whole time. When the food arrived, over a space of about 5 mins, the portion sizes were huge. The braising steak must have been about a pound of meat in a very dark glutenous gravy (clearly made with gravy granules) it looked very unappetising. The mashed potato tasted like a packet mix too. The chicken, bacon and brie ciabatta looked devoid of colour. The ciabatta seemed unbaked, the chicken had no colour and the bacon was hard.
We did not want a confrontation, so chose to pay the bill and leave. We left nearly all the food and no questions were asked. Any decent establishment would be concerned about the amount of food left and enquire as to what was wrong - not here. We will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesangria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
172 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I had an early evening dinner here in March. The place was packed so luckily my friends had booked. there is some deal where meals before 7 pm off a set choice menu and smaller portions are cheap. However I chose chicken in wensleydale cheese sauce. Was a large portion and no dessert was needed. Service was OK. I would not it was super friendly but neither was it bad, it also was very busy. the pub also gave my friend and his wildlife group free use of a meeting room upstairs for their monthly meeting.
would I come again? Yes. This place is half a mile off the A1 and a good place for all those that want to and need to avoid service stations. Beer was nice also. huge car park.
I have been reviewing on here about a year and some of my reviews are negative, but the one negative review here below from someone who has only posted once, is not my experience at all. This is a nice place to have very good pub food, and a glass of beer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beesbeesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I went to this place tonight for a meal with my friends and family. It was recommended by a friend who said that the food was excellent and the staff were friendly and I couldn't agree more. The staff were very friendly and polite and the food was amazing. I did experience a wait for my meal but this was sure to be down to it being very busy but it was well worth the wait. I defiantly would recommend the Blue Bell Inn to anyone who is wanting a great atmosphere and even better food. I will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

After reading the review from Doncaster I was appalled and really think the writer has been somewhere else. My husband and I frequently go for lunch during the week, and always have to book which in itself speaks volumes. We also held our Golden Wedding celebrations there and were delighted with the whole deal. We entertained 50 people and everyone enjoyed themselves. Several of our guests have been back since. The staff couldnt do enought for us, the food was excellent and the room was first class. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSilverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentbridge
0.4 km away
Wentbridge House Hotel
Wentbridge House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
2.5 km away
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
2.6 km away
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Premier Inn Pontefract North Hotel
5.9 km away
King's Croft Hotel
King's Croft Hotel
#2 of 6 in Pontefract
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.6 km away
Kyte Hotel
Kyte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Darrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Inn

Property: Blue Bell Inn
Address: Great North Road, Wentbridge WF8 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wentbridge
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wentbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing