We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still lovely”
Review of Starata Kushta

Starata Kushta
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Smolyan
Cuisines: Eastern European
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Popped in for lunch,

Not easy to park so close to, we were down hill across the main road so quite a few steps.

Waiter was chatty and helpful.

Again we ordered far too much for three of us.

Ah yes, my soup which I ordered as a starter turned up with everything else. That isn’t unusual in BG.

Food was delicious again.

We’ll be back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank HalDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Came here (also known as pamporovo house) based entirely on the reviews here, and we not disappointed. Wonderful building with lots of books and crannies. The food was very good, and the service excellent. A nice low key buzz to the place, and very reasonably priced. A full meal for 5 of us including wine and desserts came to under 90 leva. Well worth the trip over from pamporovo.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Martinmjgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Everything is good. The service is polite. There is music, too. The portion of the meal is quite good, and of course it's traditional Bulgarian food. It's amazing!

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank 620pavlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We visit Smolyan a lot so have been to many of the restaurants and my family all agrees that this is the best! There's always a lovely warm welcome and fabulous food. The restaurant is an old house (starata kushta) built in the Bulgarian revival style, with lots of lovely original artefacts and photos around the place. The original rooms are all still there so the chances are you'll be dining in a private room, laid out like a dining room in a Bulgarian home.

We've never had a poor meal there and have particularly liked the lamb cheverme, all of the 'sach' ('sizzler') dishes and the trout but any choice would be a good one! We've often been given a significant discount off the (already extremely reasonable) bill for our attempts to read and speak Bulgarian and have several times been squeezed in somewhere when the restaurant has been full so we always feel amazingly welcome - as we always do across the region.

When I think of the Starata Kushta I think of feeling full, warm and happy - so you can't say fairer than that!

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starata Kushta also viewed

Smolyan, Smolyan Province
 
Smolyan, Smolyan Province
Smolyan, Smolyan Province
 
Pamporovo, Smolyan Province
Smolyan, Smolyan Province
 

Been to Starata Kushta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing