We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local ambiance meets luxury in a stunningly beautiful setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 December 2013

For my first visit to San Juan Del Sur I wanted someplace with character but I like my luxuries. Pelican Eyes exceeded expectations. Our room was open and spacious, with stunning vistas off our private deck. I cannot say enough about the professional service - I want to especially mention the engaging restaurant staff, Sophia, Javier, and Raphael, who went to great lengths to accommodate us, and the concierge, Lorna, who set up the best sail boat excursion I've ever experienced.

Room Tip: I didn't see all the rooms, but ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drtracijordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear,

First of all thank you for taking your time to write this review. I am very happy to hear that your stay at Pelican Eyes exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your comments, especially the ones regarding our team members are particularly appreciated. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 304 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

When imagining what kind of experience I would have during my stay in Nicaragua, I never could in my wildest dreams foresee the exquisite oasis of Pelican Eyes. The stunning built-of-local-materials homes look like something out of a 5-star travel magazine listing the top places to go before you die. The views of the Pacific ocean and the beautiful, colorful town of San Juan are an incredible sight to see. The staff are all kind and courteous,. I met one fellow who took an hour bus ride, a 45 minute taxi ride and 30 min trip (not kidding) by donkey cart, just to come work at Pelican eyes; as the insurance, education and child-care offered to the staff make it one of the best jobs around. The food, amenities and all-around atmosphere there are top-notch; organic options and gourmet food, beautiful infinity pools, resort-wide wifi, transportation no corners are cut here. A short walk into town makes Pelican Eyes and ideal spot to explore the Nicaraguan country side, take surfing lessons or go enjoy a rum on the beach. The beautiful home we stayed in featured a beautiful arched-brink ceiling in the bedroom with indirect lighting, a huge stone floor shower and a full kitchen all decked out in luxury. I would recommend this as a place to go to relax, have fun and treat yourself to a vacation built for a king (or queen). Cheers!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beyondthegreysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this flattering review. I am very happy read that you had such a delightful time at Pelican Eyes. At all times you are welcome to come back to our exquisite oasis, we will be more than happy to serving you again.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel is amazing, I loved the food, service, swimming pool and overall the view it offers. Really worth. The sunset from here is beautiful. Also price for food and drinks are very good for what the place offers. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GissAroundtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. I am happy to hear that you loved the food, service and our accommodations. I appreciate you writing this comment. Looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We celebrate our wedding at the Pelican Eyes Resort, and we have no regrets about our decision. We really appreciate all the team work that they did for us, all the support, advices that they gave us.
It's a paradise!
Everyone was fascinated with the location, the logistic, the food, the attention, specially when it's a big event for 300 people... It was a really nice and beautiful wedding thanks to the great team that they have!
Special thanks to Joel, Javier, Manuel, Enrique, Martin, Elizabeth! :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryJaneGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this review. I am very content to hear that you had such a wonderful time at Pelican Eyes celebrating your wedding. Thank you so much for your praising comments, the ones regarding our team members are particularly appreciated. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A huge bang for your buck. The locals are nice. Your rooms are huge for the price. I was able to make friends of Pelican Eyes and they showed me around San Juan del Sur. The views from your room and the restaurant is where its at. I know you heard all the stories about the NIC but don't let that stop you. I did have to pay my way out of ticket but it wasn't to bad based on the currency rate. Have fun and enjoy being a stranger. I did. Can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: All rooms has a remarkable view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aa81j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased hearing that you had such a pleasant stay at our resort. I appreciate thoughtful comments like this one. We also cannot wait to have you back and to offer you the service you have gotten to appreciate so much.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
8.1 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.9 km away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#13 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
338 reviews
2.7 km away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#7 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
143 reviews
22.8 km away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
637 reviews
2.8 km away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#24 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: ₹ 14,829 - ₹ 21,986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing