We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for me” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not for me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed a couple nights attending the wedding of a close friend's daughter. It's a destination hotel oriented to the market niche of weddings and receptions for foreigners and upper income Nicaragua families. The hotel is located on a hill overlooking the bay of San Juan del Sur. The rooms and apartments are scattered along the hill and there are a lot ups and downs to move through the installations. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, decorated with taste, in a rustic style but the steps inside our room to reach the bathroom were dangerous and may cause accidents. The hotel's main attractions are the swimming pools and the panoramic views but other than that it is not worth the money: the cheapest room is $200, which is a lot for Nicaragua standards, and the food pretentious and expensive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camoto54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    185
    65
    48
    29
See reviews for
176
261
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed at Pelican Eyes from Jan. 11-17, 2012. The hotel has great expanded since my last visit, and we stayed in the Casa Cielo, which is probably the highest house on the property. It was gorgeous, with a huge downstairs area with full kitchen, gas grill outside and upstairs sleeping quarters with a balcony and beautiful view of the bay. A really incredible room, where you could cook your own meals, etc. There is also a small restaurant that serves the higher parts of the property, with superb service from Gato and Saca. The only negatives are the prices, which are comparable to expensive hotels anywhere, and way above SJDS rates anywhere else; and the long walk uphill to the Phase II buildings.

I would definitely recommend the sail again, as well as day trips to Playa Madera and Playa Hermosa. Both beautiful beaches with bar/restaurants on them. You need a truck to get there though. I did not use the 4WD, but the roads were very bumpy with steep uphills and downhills. Good thing I am used to alot of offroading here in Louisiana.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a room closer to the lower bar/restaurant. The walk up to the very top mult...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Engelsmung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

The good: the rooms are very nice - pools are good and rooms and pool all have great views
The bad: mediocre, overpriced food, poor customer service (especially from the evening staff) and a steep uphill climb up a unpaved, rocky dirt road if you are unlucky enough to be placed in "phase two" of the development. Avoid the latter at all costs!

Room Tip: Demand a room in Phase one when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lolatcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanEyes, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our resort. We appreciate the feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive top notch service during your stay and we will address this with all of our staff. The restaurant is constantly evolving and we hope that, should you return, you will find improved food and prices. As of mid-January, we have closed the majority of phase for renovations and maintenance.
Thank you, again, for your helpful feedback.
All the best,
Pelican Eyes Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Spent a lot of time out and about exploring this spectacular area but coming back to Pelican Eyes was such a treat...especially meeting up in the bar to debrief overlooking the bay...breathtaking. Central to everything, beautiful rooms, gardens and great service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQpacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadabbie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at Pelican Eyes, Jan 2012. We stayed in one of the 'casas' with two friends. Here is what we loved about the place:
1) Beautiful architecture in the "casas" where we stayed. Apparently all the work was hand done. Trees (Some of which may have been felled on the property) serve as beams inside the casa. We love that look. Also, we loved that from our porch (which was also lovely for bird and ocean watching) we could not see many other structures. The resort has left many trees and flowers everywhere, so many of the other casas and lodges are hidden in the trees.
2) Amazing views. We saw two sunsets poolside and it was spectacular. You can see the surrounding hills and the fishing boats in the bay and the ocean beyond. The sounds of birds, roosters and monkeys in the hills are pretty constant and to me, always lovely!
3) The flowers and gardens are impeccably well cared for and beautiful.
4) We only ate at the resort once but the food and service were outstanding.
5) The staff was extremely helpful with reservations for a day trip (to Ometepe- I highly recommend that trip) and for airport shuttles.
6) We spent a good deal of time in the town. There are loads of wonderful restaurants. It was a cheerful and safe town...We cannot say enough about that.

Pelican eyes is a serene, private, and simply beautiful place to be. I hope we will be able to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cadabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
8.2 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.8 km away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
5.4 km away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.7 km away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,369 - ₹ 21,139
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing