We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Irish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irish House
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Irish House is located about four blocks from the beach. It sits on a corner of two very busy streets and just where the touristy part of town starts.
I chose this B&B because of the positive reviews I have read on this site. Unfortunately, I have to say it was a disappointment for me. I expected more as this is a B&B and not a hostel and because of the higher price.
The rooms are just OK. They are quite cold, “sanitary” and lifeless. My room was big enough for one person. It was clean and it had a fan and a private bathroom. The bed was good as well but the linen was just awful. It was very old. In no time at all, the lint from the linen was all over my clothes and bags. It was just everywhere. The towels were old as well and smell like old wet rag after one use.
The building is located on a corner of two busy streets with loud traffic and drunken people congregating until very late hours. Early in the morning the traffic started again. It was hard to get any sleep.
Security in this place was very poor. After I checked in and settled in my room, I went to buy some groceries. Walking out of the building, I found the bar on the main floor locked and side door into the building open. There was nobody around and I assumed I was the only guest as it is a small place and I have not seen or heard anybody else. There was no way for me to lock the door so I tried to find somebody…. There was nobody around. When I came back there was still nobody around and the side door just like I left it, closed but not locked. Anybody can just walk into the building into the hallway and kick-in the flimsy doors into the rooms with very little problem. It is interesting that the bar was carefully locked up from both sides…. After one night of no or very little sleep I checked out. I found much better value elsewhere.
There was a good internet and the staff wasn’t bad. I ended up staying in San Juan for four day in a different hostel. Anytime I walked by Irish House, the bar was empty and the building looked deserted.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irish_house2013, Propietario at Irish House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
apologies for the quality of the hotel at the time and thank you for your criticism so I can correct, unfortunately the person in charge did not give the best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
17
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, USA
Level Contributor
195 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

It's tough rating Irish House. A five star experience? Hardly. But would I stay there again? Absolutely.

I had never been to San Juan del Sur (much less Nicaragua) and did more research than I care to admit to find lodging that was clean, safe, and inexpensive. Irish House was clearly the best option and met all of my expectations. Bob was wonderful to deal with and patient with all of our requests. I visited a few more hotels when I was in town and nothing was as welcoming, certainly not for the price.

Two things to keep in mind though. One, San Juan del Sur is easily the loudest place I've ever been! Dogs, firecrackers, construction, buses, blaring music -- we heard it all. There isn't any property immune to this and the convenience of being in town is well worth it. Just be sure to bring earplugs.

Second, there is no hot water. It isn't as bad as you think because 'cold' is actually lukewarm thanks to the sunny weather. Still, we felt a bit cheated until we found out that our friends in the high-priced hotel down the road also didn't have any.

When it comes down to it, cleanliness and safety are what matters most, and Irish House is a winner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gridskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Another great review for The Irish House! The owner Roberto was super helpful and welcoming. The room had many windows and great light with a nice little balcony. Beds were comfortable and the place was very clean. It's right in town so there was a little noise from buses and such. It was a wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Roberto and his family were welcoming and we stopped in a couple times to share stories and have a few Guiness while were in town. We met a couple staying there and there were happy with the location and rooms. Roberto would have been more than happy to show us the rooms although they were all full when we stopped by.

Neat little Irish Pub in Nicaragua!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stumbled upon the Irish House by mistake looking for another hotel in our travel guide. The owner Elisha found us very confused travelers standing in her doorway and invited us in, gave us a tour, then jokingly complained that we interrupted her online poker tournament. The 3 of us are avid poker players and that’s when I fell in love. Not to mention she had Guinness and Paddys whiskey behind the bar which was another selling point. The room was more like a mini apt with a balcony, bathroom, stocked kitchen, TV, free wifi, and 3 beds and for $40 you won’t find anything better. There’s no ac but we had 3 fans and a nice breeze and wouldn’t have noticed the difference. They have the cutest bartender at night who was super friendly and sweet. The owners Elisha and Roberto we so friendly and fun! Roberto gave us recommendations for food and fun and also offered us rides to the store and around town. They also arranged nightly poker games in the bar with their friends; we stayed there 5 nights and played poker 3 of those 5. They made our trip better than I could have imagined and I will recommend The Irish House to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesusdrankcoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 km away
HC Suites Hotel
HC Suites Hotel
#17 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Please Hotel
Beach Please Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#28 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Marina Condominium Hotel on the Beach
Casa Marina Condominium Hotel on...
#18 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 km away
Nuestra Casa
Nuestra Casa
#16 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irish House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish House

Property: Irish House
Address: | From the Market, 2 Blocks to the North, San Juan del Sur SJDS, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,568 - ₹ 3,210
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irish House Hotel is located in the heart of San Juan del Sur in a very central area of town with many shops, bars and restorant close. in a friendly atmosphere with an Irish bar, Irish House Hotel has a perfect terrace overlooking the sea where you could enjoy the sunset with a barbecue, beer and of course the best of Nicaragua FLOWER CANE RUM. The hotel is Built 3 years ago and is in perfect condition both outside and inside. book your holiday with us and will have an excellent service from us which will help make your stay the best.Irish house hotel has private apartments for 2, 3, 4 and 5 persons all with TVCable, wi fi in the apartment, bathroom, kitchen and fridge, safe and private balcony with nice view. (towels and bed linen provided and changed every 2 days)located in the town center just two blocks from the beach and close to bars and restorant. recidencial area and secure 24 hours.Facilities Bar Car Parking Lounge area Internet / Wi-Fi 24 hour reception Safety deposit Tours/Travel Desk Express check-in / out Late check-out Laundry service Reception (limited hours) Room service (24 hour) Room service (limited hours) Wake-up calls Bar(s) BBQ area Café Internet access in public areas Internet café Newspapers Outside area Pets allowed Television room Sofa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Irish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irish House Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Irish House Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing