We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay For The Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Stay For The Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Decided to stay here so we could take advantage of the discount admission prices during HersheyPark in The Springtime which is their special for Opening Weekends. Discounted Regular Tickets were $25.95 and Jr./Sr. Tickets were $16.95 avaible at the local Giant Food Center. The property is in close proximity to HersherPark (under 10 minute ride to the parking lot). The hotel charges were covered by our Choice Privileges Points Balance, but it would have been approximately $130ish for the two bedroom we selected.

Check in was very smooth. We were greeted at the counter and our reservation was processed promptly. The amenities were explained such as pool hours/location and breakfast hours/location. The gentleman at the desk then walked us to our room. The atmosphere was welcoming, not overbearing.

Normally we avoid Rodeway's because they are generally at the bottom of the Choice Food chain. However, based on research and info we decided to give this property a stay. The rooms are not your typical cookie cutter motel style one would associate with a Rodeway Inn.

This motel is more like a hotel (not quite). It appears as if it were an apartment complex that has been converted into its current state. The rooms aren't upscale, but they aren't suppose to be. They had everything we needed for our two night stay.

Our two bedroom "suite" was located on a second floor with no elevator access. It was very roomy and had one queen bed in a common room and two full beds in a private room along with a kitchen area. The kitchen has a sink, large fridge/freezer and large table as well as cabinets stocked with plates, silverware and utensils. Both sleeping areas have LCD TV's and separate heat & A/C. The beds are standard motel style. These were comfortable, but not nearly as nice ad the Comfort Suite beds we usually stay at.

Parking is somewhat tight, but appears to be sufficient for one vehicle per room. We were able to park right across from the stairwell to our room.

The indoor pool is located right off the lobby, so for most rooms you have to walk outside to get to the pool area. The pool is large with a depth scale of 3ft to 5ft deep. Pool towels are available right there.

They do offer a basic Continental Breakfast upstairs from the lobby and then menu for the next morning was posted at the lobby counter. It is the standard muffins, cereals, juices etc.

There appears to be excellent Wi-Fi coverage, but the speed seemed spotty and sometimes dial up slow via my iPhone as I was writing this review, so I switched over to my 3G connection. The place is about fully booked so it could be too many users on the hotspot. It seemed to vary with different speed tests at different times.

Overall, I can easily recommend this property. The desk staff was helpful and friendly with directions to the nearest Giant Food Center for the above mentioned discount ticket. The rooms were above average and easily accommodated the five of us. Even the bathroom was roomy. We would stay here again for the price point even if we were paying out of pocket. The more upscale properties in the area were priced significantly higher.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BenJF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    62
    41
    19
    25
See reviews for
111
29
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acme, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is not your typical hotel, it is family owned and they do go out of there way. The hotel is not new and does show some age but is clean, breakfast is good and the pool is very nice. I especially like that they have multiple rooms with 3 beds for larger groups so you dont need to get 2 rooms.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wposp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We got there early and they were able to get us in to our rooms earlier than scheduled. Rooms very clean, and a decent size. The continental breakfast was really good. The swimming pool was a fun place to relax..Staffing was great. Really close to all parks. Definitely will be going back again..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Smelly and old room condition. Terrible staff service. Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hershey hotels

Fairmont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband and I booked a room for 1 night in December online thru Choice Hotels. It did not state on the website at all that you had to pay via credit card unless you wanted to give them a $100.00 cash deposit. We should up to check in and the lobby was dirty, we had to wait on someone to come downstairs to help us, and once he did arrive he was very rude. He told us how much we would owe and I said ok I would like to pay in cash. He said no debit or credit card only. I explained to him that I could not do that as I had all of my money with me expecting to pay in cash. I proceeded to tell him that I would only pay in cash and he said fine you will have to give me a $100.00 cash deposit. I have never in all of my travels heard of a hotel requiring a $100 deposit. I have heard of $50 deposits and credit cards for incidentals but not this. So, I told the rude guy that he could cancel my reservation and that we would be taking our business elsewhere and would never be recommending his hotel to anyone. After we had left and I had time to cool off, I called back and asked for a cancellation number to have proof incase he would try to charge my card and he said you don't need a number and was very rude. Needless to say I hung up on him. This was the worst experience and customer service I have ever experienced at a hotel and I have stayed at too many to count. Just ridiculous and uncalled for.

Room Tip: Don't choose one at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.3 km away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 24 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.0 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
3.6 km away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 24 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
3.1 km away
The Milton Hotel
The Milton Hotel
#16 of 24 in Hershey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 43 W. Areba Ave., Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,913 - ₹ 16,290
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Hershey
Rodeway Inn And Suites
Rodeway Inn Hershey
Hershey Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing