We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this plae at all cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simplicity Inn Hershey
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Smelly and old room condition. Terrible staff service. Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband and I booked a room for 1 night in December online thru Choice Hotels. It did not state on the website at all that you had to pay via credit card unless you wanted to give them a $100.00 cash deposit. We should up to check in and the lobby was dirty, we had to wait on someone to come downstairs to help us, and once he did arrive he was very rude. He told us how much we would owe and I said ok I would like to pay in cash. He said no debit or credit card only. I explained to him that I could not do that as I had all of my money with me expecting to pay in cash. I proceeded to tell him that I would only pay in cash and he said fine you will have to give me a $100.00 cash deposit. I have never in all of my travels heard of a hotel requiring a $100 deposit. I have heard of $50 deposits and credit cards for incidentals but not this. So, I told the rude guy that he could cancel my reservation and that we would be taking our business elsewhere and would never be recommending his hotel to anyone. After we had left and I had time to cool off, I called back and asked for a cancellation number to have proof incase he would try to charge my card and he said you don't need a number and was very rude. Needless to say I hung up on him. This was the worst experience and customer service I have ever experienced at a hotel and I have stayed at too many to count. Just ridiculous and uncalled for.

Room Tip: Don't choose one at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed here for a night when attending a concert in Hershey. Based on the price, I wasn't expecting anything fantastic. The rooms were equivalent to the price. They were pretty clean, there was a flat screen tv, fridge & microwave. It was a little dark/musty, but not as bad as others made it out to be. The beds were not overly comfortable, but I wasn't expecting them to be...The location was great -- a close drive to the GIANT center, where the concert was held.
My main issue was with the extremely loud pipes that were banging all morning long. They woke me up numerous times. When I say loud, I mean extremely loud -- sounded like construction right in my room. For this reason, I'd opt to stay at a newer hotel and pay a little more money. If you're on a tight budget and don't mind loud pipes waking you up, the hotel is fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I would not stay at the hotel again! The cheaper price certainly reflects the quality of the place. The beds were very hard and I woke up feeling rather sore. We were woken up to banging pipes that sounded like a jack hammer which continued to go off at a greater frequency as people continued to wake up. When we stayed the hotel was full and it was impossible to find a parking spot in the small lot. Not a pleasant experience!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiep714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I stayed there recently on a business trip. The hotel room was very clean and large. The staff was kind and very helpful. The location is close to all Hershey attractions. The hotel is situated on a roadway that has very little traffic, more of a residential area. The price is very reasonable for the area. You would not regret staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
3.2 km away
Econo Lodge Hershey
Econo Lodge Hershey
#12 of 25 in Hershey
22 reviews
2 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
2.5 km away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#15 of 25 in Hershey
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
632 reviews
1.3 km away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simplicity Inn Hershey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simplicity Inn Hershey

Address: 43 W Areba Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1410
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Price Range: ₹ 3,857 - ₹ 12,341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Simplicity Inn Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simplicity Inn Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Hershey
Rodeway Inn And Suites
Rodeway Inn Hershey
Hershey Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing