We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of What If of Hershey

What If of Hershey
Reserve with OpenTable
What If of Hershey is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 84 Restaurants in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 31
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street Hershey
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Very good mixed drinks. We had the blueberry infused vodka martini and an adult lemonade. The food was good, not oversized portions. Cozy atmosphere

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    105
    41
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were on a family vacation (15 of us) and every place on the Hershey compund was booked and could not accodomate us. We were able to get a reservation at What If. We were not expecting much since it was last minute and every place was booked. We were pleasantly surpised with the restaurant. First, I must mention that 7 of the 15 were small children, ranging in ages from 3 to 8). The restaurant was very accododating, especially to our children. Second, the service was fantastic. Our waitress was Amber and she was great. She took care of the kids and made sure they were happy while we waited (which was not lon) for our food and while the adults ate. She was always near if we needed anything. Last, but certainly not least, the food was fabulous. I am Italian and can be hard to please when I eat Italian. But the food was great and everyone enjoyed their meal...all 15 of us!!!! I would absolutely go back there again and plan to on our trip next year to Hershey. Loved it.
Lisa from Long Island, NY

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had a large group performing at Hershey Park and booked rooms at the Howard Johnson because they were the only hotel that could accommodate the 12 rooms you needed on a short notice. We prepared ourselves for nothing fancy and ended up pleasantly surprised when hanging out poolside we were greeted by Austin who introduced us to the What If menu and it's numerous evening drink and food specials. His inviting personality, knowledge of the menu, and ability to handle our large crowd with ease led us to abandon our prior plans of going to a nice restaurant for dinner and staying put with the one that was right there at the Howard Johnsons of all places!! The kids loved the new plans of swimming all night and eating at their leisure and the adults were more than pleased with the service and the food! What If was a hidden surprise and Austin was one of THE BEST servers we have come across in a long time!! As a traveling peformance group, we have dined together at many different establishments and great service is hard to come by for a group our size. Not so at What If and next time we come to Hershey Park to perform, we will be back, thanks to Austin. He represented the restaurant perfectly!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Being in the basement of Howard Johnson threw me off, but this place is a hidden gem! It has a very cool, contemporary atmosphere, the service was terrific, and the food was delicious - actually, much better than the Circular Dining Room at the Hershey Hotel (service and food). Can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Below average food in the basement of HoJo's”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

This place is located in the musty smelling basement of Howard Johnsons. The food is below avergae yet pricey.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay52819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to What If of Hershey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing