We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“customer service not top priority”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
maine
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“customer service not top priority”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Checking in was not smooth. They were quite busy (taking phone calls while live customers waited) then gave us a room which didn't meet our request on line.
Finally changed to a correct room. The building is hard to negociate if you aren't familiar with it. You have to go outside to get to some of the floors. The adjoining restaurant is closed, but we ate at a nearby sushi grill - very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bolongoMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    363
    308
    202
    187
See reviews for
636
348
55
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

the "newly renovated" (as it is advertised as) hotel was not as nice as we expected. We are used to better quality. The outside appearance and parking lot area needs a lot of help. The rooms were okay and clean. One of the 6 beds had a stained bedspread that was gross. All 3 rooms ceilings were stained. The smoking rooms we didn't want (never had to specify non smoking when traveling before) were horrifyingly smelly. The staff was friendly and thankfully moved us into other rooms. The free breakfast was basic. The indoor pool was small and clean. The beds were decent for comfort. The bathroom toilet was small and had a very loud flush. Nice shower. Drive to Hershey Park or Giant Center is against the flow of usual congested traffic which makes this place a huge plus in that regard. This is stricly a 2.5 star hotel - sorta average.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking when you book. Rooms in the main building were nicer than the attached wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarMarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We needed 2 rooms in a hotel in the Harrisburg/Hershey area so we used Priceline and named our own price. The Ramada accepted our price of $50 a night for each room. After we got the confirmation from Priceline we called the Ramada to request connecting rooms. The Ramada then informed us that they don't have any connecting rooms and the rooms they were holding for us were just queen beds, if we wanted 2 doubles we would have to pay an extra $20 a night per room. We were travelling with 4 kids and needed connecting rooms so we asked the manager if they had any sister properties we could stay in instead. They said they didn't have any and they could give us rooms right next door to each other. I explained that I couldn't leave some of my kids by themselves even if they were next door and eventually they agreed to upgrade us to a bigger room with 2 beds and a pull out. The room was huge, plenty of room to spread out and play. The fridge and microwave were an added bonus. The breakfast was good. On one of the days they ran out of the cereal my kids liked and when I asked the staff if they had anymore they immediately went and got me some. Like some people mentioned, it is a bit tricky to find the entrance but once you do that first time it's ok. The only annoying thing was that the elevator broke on the day we checked out so we had to go up and down 3 flights of stairs quite a few times with all our luggage. Next time we go to the Harrisburg/Hershey area I am going to book this hotel directly since the room was perfect for our family.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank immachamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I am picky about only two things when it comes to hotels in our limited price range - cleanliness and safe environs. I couldn't give a fig about whether the carpet is a bit worn or the decor a bit dated and don't look for either positives or negatives in physical appearance. This hotel gave us everything I wanted and needed, and a bit more.

First off, the hotel is about a half hour from Hersheypark - easy on and off the highway. I had no problem with noise - the AC provided enough white noise for comfort, and we were on the leeward side from the highway anyhow. Getting into the hotel off 81 was a bit of a quick-turn game, as you actually enter from the a point well past the hotel itself - just get into the far left lane as you get off or cross over the higheway, and be prepared to look for the "ENTER HERE" sign near the red Ramada sigh at the first light.

Check-in was quick and painless, with the gentleman on front desk being a wealth of information about the local area. Flyers with directions (all correct) to local eateries and stores was right there, as were directions to Hersheypark. Parking was abundant and convenient, plenty of luggage carts, no worries here.

Our room was clean, though for a smoke-free room it REEKED of smoke - we didn't complain, as it was late and we were tired; it says more about the mannerless former guest than it does about the hotel anyway. By day two, the smell was entirely gone so we didn't have to mention it to the front desk.

Our room - king sized bed and pull-out sofa - was roomy, though you can't use the computer desk when the pull-out is open; television had abundant channels. The fridge was spacious, and a microwave made our day. I prefer a softer mattress, but when my husband, who prefers firm, said that the mattress was too firm, it's a pretty good indication that it IS too firm. Temperature controls worked beautifully. Free wi-fi worked well, without need for access pass.

The pool was warm and clean with generous hours. It was almost exclusively ours for two nights, hideously crowded with loud, rowdy pool hogs the next two. You take what you get - it's not the hotel's fault. We brought our own towels (planning for Hersheypark) as the pool towels at every hotel we've ever been to leave much to be desired.

Breakfast - this seems to be a point of much whinging and moaning. When a hotel provides a FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST, people, don't come looking for a full-out breakfast buffet! If you want eggs, fresh fruit pancakes, etc. you should plan to eat out. Breakfast hours were 6-10 a.m. and it was, as expected, carb-heavy. Cereal (individual packages), bagels and breads for toasting, three make-your-own belgian waffles, apples and oranges, coffee, tea, and juice. On the second morning there was yogurt; on the third, we arrived after a huge extended family had just settled in, so pickings were slimmer - though the staff did her best to replenish the stock.

Also a plus for those whose children are furry - the hotel is pet-friendly; we saw several very happy pooches during our stay.

We enjoyed our stay tremendously for the bargain price we were able to grab online; any annoyances were caused by the poor manners and general inconsiderate nature of some of our fellow guests, not the hotel. We'd gladly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room on an upper floor - it's a good bet that it will be quieter than lower level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Autumnglory1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Hershey Park and Lancaster County which is what I imagine what you are thinking of doing as you read this review.
First room was too small, we needed 2 beds, so we were moved to a much nicer room.
Pool was clean, hot tub was clean. Pool and tub got pretty crowded at times but my 9 year old daughter loved it. There used to be a restaurant and bar adjacent to the hotel. Seems like they are renovating it now. The Gym was unfortunately out of commission . Breakfast was as good as a continental gets. Hotel is a solid 20 min. to Hershey and 45 min to Lancaster County.
Best part of the whole trip was pulling into an Amish farm that had Rootbeer advertised for sale. We met an 8 year old Amish boy that was polite, friendly, and talkative! Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: Be careful of the lowest rate advertised online. It is a very small room with one bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFoundation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#20 of 50 in Harrisburg
305 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#26 of 50 in Harrisburg
211 reviews
9.7 km away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#37 of 50 in Harrisburg
102 reviews
7.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
6.2 km away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area

Property: Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
Address: 300 N Mountain Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17112-2656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,348 - ₹ 10,623
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Best Western Harrisburg
Harrisburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing