We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
58
37
9
20
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
37
9
20
69
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2006

When my wife and I booked the Inn of the Dove in Harrisburg's Beach Themed Pool suite for our 4th anniversary, we were looking forward to a flashback to our honeymoon in the caribbean and a preview of a return trip for our 5-year anniversary.

When we got to the Inn of the Dove, all appeared to be well. After signing a lot of paperwork and being strongly admonished not to steal any of the shells, towels, or other things in the room, we proceeded to our suite.

When we got in, everything looked nice. Although some of the beach decor was a little tacky, the pool and hot tub looked very nice. The room was not spectacularly clean (some mold on the grouting in the shower, etc) but nothing overt that would keep us from enjoying ourselves. There were mirrors on the ceiling and wall behind the bed, and a shower for two; it certainly looked like the setting for a porno.

Immediately upon entering the room, one us went to use the restroom. Neither of us had used the bathroom yet, but we found TP floating in the toilet, and found that it wouldn't flush. We called the desk and the owner came with a plunger to fix it. Tried for a few minutes, and called to staff for help. She offered us the key to the unoccupied room upstairs so we could use the bathroom there or use the one in the office. We declined, and ran out to a grocery store to get some snacks, anticipating sitting around the pool area drinking tropical beverages. The manager offered a complimentary bottle of champagne for our troubles, which we thought was very nice. Her teenage or 20-something son arrived to help with the plumbing problem, carrying his lighted cigarrette into our room, which did not impress us at all. Still, we anticpated returning to fixed plumbing and a romantic, relaxing evening.

We returned, and found a bottle of champagne on ice, but the toilet still didn't work. The owner said there was nothing she could do, blaming all the rain we'd had, and that water was draining from the toilet, just slowly, and the clog was breaking up. Water would drain, but it still wouldn't really flush at all. She again offered us the use of the room upstairs to use the bathroom. Hmm...this suite has a shower-for-two, an in-room hot tub, a pool room, and mirrors on the ceiling. Having to leave my hotel room to go to another room to use the restroom isn't acceptable anywhere in my mind, but a this is a room designed for intimacy, and people aren't going to be in situations where they're going to want to just run upstairs if they have to use the restoom. It certainly wasn't what we paid over $350 for 1 night for. We demanded our money back and left immediately. We were never offered another room (which would have a lower price and fewer amenities) because the owner thought we'd be disappointed after expecting the pool suite. I would have been, but it wouldn't have been as disappointing as a nicer room with a disgusting clogged toilet. We probably would have accepted another room, but it was only offered to us after I pointed out that it hadn't been offered to us, and along with a lot of excuses from the owner.

Like I said, the room definately had potential for fun, but at over $350 for night, the toilet shouldn't be unfixably pre-clogged. This problem should get fixed, and the room would be nice, but we'll never stay there again after this experience.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Service
35  Thank Destination26605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2005

After reading all the reviews, I feel compelled to add my own horror story to the mix.

This place is an absolute dump. The room we stayed in was one of their so called 'deluxe rooms' and was $219 (including tax). All I can say is that the management benefitted from the fact that I was extremely tired on my wedding night. Had I been less exhausted, I would have marched right out and demanded a refund.

The decor was hip in (maybe) the early '70's...Which is also (most likely) the last time the room had been cleaned. Jacuzzi tub?? What an exaggeration....OUR jacuzzi tub at home is bigger!! Everything looked shabby and dirty and whorish. Romantic? I don't know how they have the audacity to call this place 'romantic' or a 'place for lovers'. This is a place for a cheap and seedy porn flick.

These rooms are also poorly insulated. As this is supposedly a 'lovers only' motel, one would think that some soundproofing would be in order.....

My poor husband... I knew he was disappointed, so I didn't have the heart to complain. But UGH!!! Do NOT waste your money on this over-hyped roach motel!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
21  Thank Sherpa9421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2005

My husband and myself just got back from a wonderful nite at the Inn of the Dove it is so beauitful and romantic place to go with your spouse or loveone and get a wonderful, helpful service from the owner and staff. anything we needed they gave us and even brought to us. We plan on many more trips to this wonderful place

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank corissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2005

My boyfriend and I needed a night alone without the kids for the first time in about 9 months. We had stayed at a similar hotel called the Loop Inn, which is total white glove, romance, spotless, exciting, etc. The Loop was booked for that evening, so we had decided to try the Inn of the Dove (Cherry Hill location). I wish I had read these reviews before plunking down $300 (with taxes) for the Honeymoon suite. The suite was dirty, every appliance was so loud we couldn't hear each other talk, there were missing pictures from the wall and dirt and dust around the blank areas, no caffeinated coffee, the non alcoholic beverages were two cans of coke and the snacks were two bags of jalapeno cheese whiz covered frito lay chips. The bidet leaked so our bathroom floor was covered with toilet water. There were no tissues, 3 small towels (which we used to clean the bathroom floor with so we could alleviate our bladders in peace). The jacuzzi controls were across the room, so every time we wanted to hear each other talk we had to get out of the tub and turn it off.

Romantic?? It was hell in a handbasket, since we sat there all night wondering why in god's name we would spend a whole paycheck to stay in a room worse than anything a Motel 6 could offer (which, btw, we had stayed in a Motel 6 with an in-room jacuzzi for $75 and it was elegant)

Beware -- if you have a reservation, cancel it. It is NOT worth the well earned money you have, and it is certainly NOT romantic. Sleazy, yes.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Companion18299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2005

The room was beautiful but clearly a party zone for someone befor we got there! I waited a long time to finally go there and my husband took me there for our wedding night and i must say i was truely disappointed.
for the money you pay you would expect more.cleanliness means everything and thats not what you get there.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tinae17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews