We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
72
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun roomgracious hostsbreakfast was deliciousb bshouse is beautifulevery morningsunroommansion
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

This was mine and my husbands first experience with a bed and breakfast and it was wonderful! The owners were very nice and offered up two excellent breakfasts while we were there. The house is very quiet and peaceful. The bed was extremely comfortable and having a private bath was great! Would definitely stay again if in the area!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jmoney67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Jmoney67,
Thank you for your review and your stay. We're glad that you enjoyed your first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. Each one is unique and very different from the experience you might expect from a Hotel or Motel. It is our business, but we live here so it is also our home. It was our pleasure to meet you and your husband and we certainly hope to have an opportunity to host you again. Guests like you are always welcome here.

Sincerely,

Bruce & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Helen and Bruce, the innkeepers, reside on the third floor of this lovely bed and breakfast, which was formerly a one-family estate home. The house had beautiful stained glass, wood floors and little details that were aesthetically pleasing. The owners were very hospitable, approachable, and accommodating. We stayed for two evenings and had two rooms, one for us and one for my adult son. The beds were comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent. For example, one morning, we enjoyed German apple pancakes. We would return if we visited the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PamelaDeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear PamelaDeP,

We really enjoyed the opportunity to host you, your husband and son during your stay in the Hanover/Gettysburg area. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope to see you again.

Thanks again!

Bruce & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

A tasteful rennovation of an old historic home, offers beautifully decorated rooms, great service, and friendly hospitality. Breakfast offerings are unique culinary creations. The interior is full of old antique grand father clocks, which chime on the hour. There are common areas: patio, living room, foyer, and meditation room. Free Wi-fi, coffe and tea service all day in the patio. Your hosts Helen and Bruce will spare no details to make your stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: The rising sun room is very spacious, with a king sized sled bed, and great natural lighting.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babalubj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear babalubj,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Shining Dawn Bed & Breakfast. It was our pleasure to meet and host you as our guests. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you'll keep us in mind should you ever make plans to stay in the area again.

Best wishes,

Bruce & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

What a truly beautiful home run by 2 really down to earth kind people. Helen & Bruce have turned their home into a Victorian beauty. Every detail is special and done with care. The room was beautiful, the stars on the ceiling were an added romantic touch. The mattress was very comfortable and I had to take a bath in the claw foot tub. We felt we were back in time. The breakfast was delicious and made with love. If ever we are back in PA this will be our go to place.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear Lois L,
We're very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We wish you the very best and hope to see you again.
Helen & Bruce, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Shining Dawn is a beautiful large B&B nestled in a historic section of Hanover, PA. We chose them because of the great reviews, price and location. The rooms are comfortable and pleasant. The view from our room was on a peaceful garden area.
Breakfast was fantastic. Poached pears, apple pancakes, eggs and Canadian bacon. And Helen and Bruce offered great advice on places to visit while in Hanover. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcsweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

davidsweigert,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. We're glad that you enjoyed the accommodations and hospitality. It was certainly our pleasure to meet and host you. You're welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews