We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
72
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun roomgracious hostsbreakfast was deliciousb bshouse is beautifulevery morningsunroommansion
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2016

What a truly beautiful home run by 2 really down to earth kind people. Helen & Bruce have turned their home into a Victorian beauty. Every detail is special and done with care. The room was beautiful, the stars on the ceiling were an added romantic touch. The mattress was very comfortable and I had to take a bath in the claw foot tub. We felt we were back in time. The breakfast was delicious and made with love. If ever we are back in PA this will be our go to place.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear Lois L,
We're very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We wish you the very best and hope to see you again.
Helen & Bruce, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Shining Dawn is a beautiful large B&B nestled in a historic section of Hanover, PA. We chose them because of the great reviews, price and location. The rooms are comfortable and pleasant. The view from our room was on a peaceful garden area.
Breakfast was fantastic. Poached pears, apple pancakes, eggs and Canadian bacon. And Helen and Bruce offered great advice on places to visit while in Hanover. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcsweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

davidsweigert,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. We're glad that you enjoyed the accommodations and hospitality. It was certainly our pleasure to meet and host you. You're welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Beautifully renovated home, gracious hosts, elegant room, spacious bathroom & shower, spectacular breakfast. Everything positive about this B&B and Helen & Bruce. Surprise for my birthday (the "BIG ONE") and he absolutely hit it out of the park with this. Every day since our visit we each comment over how special this was for both of us. He is still commenting over how big the bedroom was and that marvelous sleigh bed that comfortably accommodated his 6'4" frame. Thanks for being a part of making my birthday awesome!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deb21044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Hi Deb21044,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciated the opportunity to host your visit during a very special occasion and are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll chose to stay with us again.
Helen & Bruce, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

This was our first stay here.. It was a great experience. Breakfast was great. Bruce and Hellen were very hospitable. The house and room were clean and beautiful.

Its about a 20 min drive from gettysburg.We originally thought it might be better to be close to or on the strip at gettysburg. We quickely realized that the the piece and tranquillity of Hanover, outweighed the busy souvenir shop laden strip in gettysburg.

The shining dawn is a short walk from its Main St. There are a few restaurant choices and a couple of micro brewery places. It was nice to be able to walk back to the B&B after dinner or the micro brewery.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dominick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dominick,
We've found that many of our guests who are in the area to visit Gettysburg chose to stay with us because of the relative peace and quiet of Hanover. We're glad you could enjoy the best of both "worlds" and hope that you'll keep us in mind should you ever plan to visit the area again. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.
Best wishes,
Bruce & Helen, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in September and had an absolutely wonderful time. The room was comfortable and well-appointed, and the breakfasts could not have been better. Bruce and Helen knew it was my wife's birthday, and they left a balloon and chocolates in our room. A thoughtful touch! Hanover is a lovely town, and the state park nearby is a great place for hiking and canoeing. We hope to return!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Mr. & Mrs. K,
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences staying with us at Shining Dawn. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your very special occasion here and hope that you'll choose to stay with us again sometime in the future.
Thanks again!

Helen & Bruce, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews