We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place! I'm going back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Glen Mills
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
1 review
“What a great place! I'm going back.”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I was in the area to train for 3 weeks with my new service dog. I was so lucky to find this hotel! The room was mostly ideal for someone in a wheelchair with wide doors and a roll-in shower. The living room area was a little cramped because we had to leave the sofa bed open, and so drawer space was limited.

The full-size fridge, microwave and 2-burner cook top helped us eat in and save money. The evening reception food wasn't much but breakfast was great! Other amenities included a pool, grilling courtyard, FREE guest laundry, fitness room and a dog walking area WITH clean up bags and a bin to put them in.

The staff was super and the extend stay rate is very good. The area has grocery and other shopping nearby as well as fast food and restaurants. Great location! I have to continue training in the fall and have already booked my room!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amunnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    52
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
85
49
17
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anytown, USA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

As a frequent business traveler and a Platinum Priority Club member, I prefer staying in IGH hotels. This Staybridge worked out great while on an engagement in Philly. I traveled in-and-out for about three months and enjoyed the stay. Friendly staff and good service. Given my schedule I wasn’t always able to make it back for the evening sundowner but on days when I did, it was good.

Ps: The reason for not giving a good and not “excellent” rating? Customer service. I was let down by the marketing manager. I had referred a colleague to stay with me for the duration of our engagement and the manager promised me some bonus PC points which never came. No response after repeated emails to them.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taizhong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed here for several days worth of meetings at a nearby company. The company arranged the hotel. But I had to arrange shuttles and other logistics for other members who were travelling in for the meeting.

1. The Rooms - clean and spacious, like a small apartment. Ideal for longer stays where you might buy your own groceries. Business travelers will appreciate the desk and the free, no hassle Internet in the room and throughout the hotel.

2. The Staff. The staff were friendly and helpful. There were, however, times where the front desk was not staffed or when phones were not promptly answered. It feel a little understaffed.

3. The location. I know that this is subjective, but for business travelers flying in from out of state, it is important to realize that this is well outside of Philadelphia and like most of the United States is not very convenient without renting a car. They have shuttles that give free transportation to areas in a 5 mile radius, which is great, but it is first come first served. More on this later in this review. There are no taxi cab companies located in the area, so if you have to call a cab, it will have to drive in from another area, which will run up the cost and require pre-planning. Don't expect to get a cab at the last minute.

The good news is that there is a shopping center nearby with restaurants within walking distance. But if you are meeting for business, there are no appropriate restaurants in easy walking distance. As there is no restaurant in the hotel itself, this further detracts from its convenience for business travelers.

4. Food

The free breakfast was better than expected and is a nice perk. It is very convenient and the food is plentiful and fresh. There are no restaurants in the hotel so you you'll have to eat outside of the hotel, have food delivered in, or cook your own lunches and dinners.

5. Transportation

This was the one disappointment for me. Since this is a hotel that caters to groups visiting the local businesses for training, meetings, etc. they do offer a free shuttle that take you to many of those businesses. Even better it will take you to local restaurants and other locations. This is great! HOWEVER, it is first come first served. When I was planning for the meeting I made several calls to the hotel and on more than one occasion asked about the shuttle. I was simply told to make a reservation when I checked in and was NOT allowed to reserve shuttle use over the telephone. At no time was I told that there was only one shuttle.

When I checked in after a very long international flight and tried to reserve the shuttle for my group for the next couple of days, I was told that the shuttle was completely booked for the week for the times I needed because another group already booked it. So I had to spend my evening making expensive reservations with cab companies and updating my team members of the change in plans.

Eventually, I was able to make some scheduling changes and the shuttle operator was very accommodating as was able to work it out so that we were able to leave a bit, but not much, earlier than we originally planned. But as nice as it is to have the free shuttle and as helpful as the operator was, the hotel really should allow customers to reserve the shuttle in advance. It is very difficult to plan business functions without knowing until the last minute that local ground transportation will be available.

I highly recommend that business groups arrange their own transportation, either by rending a van or with a cab company rather than relying on the hotel's shuttle. Local businesses certainly should not count on the shuttle selecting this hotel for their business functions. That is certainly the feedback I gave the company I was meeting with.

If they handled shuttle reservations in a more business-friendly manner, I would have given this hotel five stars.

Room Tip: I only stayed here once, but I can't see how one room is really better than another. It is not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spoonbilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

It has been extremely hot here this past week and hubby I live in the city and we wanted to get away close to home to swim and relax by a pool.. I chose this place for the great rate, under 1 hr from home, free breakfast and outdoor pool. We had a studio suite, large enough for the two of us. It was very clean, included a small mini kitchen and comfortable queen bed and sitting area. Most of our afternoon was spent poolside. Nice, not
very large pool. There was also a barbecue pavilion with two gas grills
which I thought was a nice feature. There was a large group of 20+ year olds who occupied the pool most of the day with us. They were a bit loud at times but they were having fun and didn't really bother anyone else from swimming. The location is great for shopping and its within walking distance of two shopping centers and restaurants. Breakfast was okay. It would have been better if they added at least Bacon or sausage to the menu. its not advertised as continental so I was expecting meat. Overall we enjoyed it and plan to book another suite hotel near home just to get away. Would we book here again? yes we would, but we want to try other places too.




  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise71594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel for an reunion with college friends. We were all there with our kids. Pool was great and the staff was very friendly. I would deftly come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaphillips423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Mills
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
1.3 km away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
356 reviews
1.7 km away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Glen Mills/Concordville
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley

Property: Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Address: 400 Evergreen Dr, Glen Mills, PA 19342-1072
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Glen Mills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Glen Mills
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,044 - ₹ 12,791
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilmington - Brandywine Valley Hotel Offers Cozy Extended Stay Accommodations Take a video tour of this hotel! Get comfortable at the Staybridge Suites Extended Stay Hotel in Wilmington - Brandywine Valley. The Staybridge Suites Hotel is centrally located on Route 1 at the Shoppes at Brinton Lake which offer a variety of shopping & dining options. We are minutes from Routes 202, 322 & I-95, a short drive to Wilmington, West Chester, Kennett Square, Philadelphia and the Philadelphia International Airport (PHL). Our Brandywine Valley hotel's location offers access to Southco, Deloitte, SAP, Astra Zeneca, Exelon & Endo Pharmaceuticals. We are minutes from Widener & West Chester Universities, Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square, the historic Brandywine Valley, Valley Forge & King of Prussia, PA. The Staybridge Suites Hotel offers apartment-style suites with the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short-term hotel needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio, one- and two-bedroom / two-bathroom suites with fully equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV w/ HBO, free high-speed, wired & wireless Internet access and direct dial phones with personalized voice mail. Other features include 24-hour business center, a free laundry facility and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley Hotel Glen Mills
Staybridge Suites Glen Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing