We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
115
20
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
20
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house herb cottage tasting room dormer room immediate family gas fireplace cool evening farm animals grounds are gorgeous bed and breakfast frittata next morning b bs marble bathroom la porta beautiful place to stay entire weekend
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

My sister in law and I had a mid week overnight stay at the winery. We were there for a break from the routine of our job, but also to work on some other aspects of our business. We had booked 2 rooms in the main hotel, and I was not disappointed.
I stayed in the Caldwell room, which was very comfortable. The room was not huge, but well appointed - did not have a refrigerator however. The bed is queen size, and my only issue was that the pillows very very firm.
After an hour and half drive, the pool was very welcoming. We almost had the hotel to ourselves. The hot tub was not there unfortunately, as it would have been well used by us. The quiet and picturesque surroundings were just what we wanted. We conducted our business and sampled some of the local wine. There is an honour bar in the hotel, and also has a host of activities. The winery is not open for tours midweek which was a shame. Loved talking to the mules, alpaca's, horse and dogs.
Would recommend this place for a fantastic, relaxing getaway - especially midweek.

Room tip: Check bed size - there is a choice in at least one room having a king, normally queen.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MargoJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

My husband and I were looking for a quick trip out of Philadelphia, and honestly spent more than we initially wanted to for an overnight trip. With limited choices the weekends we selected, we pulled the trigger on Grace Winery and were very happy we did! The grounds are beautiful, and we each enjoyed the red wine flight in the Tasting Room before checking-in. After getting our key to The Caldwell, we explored the grounds saying high to the resident animals, walking the vineyard, and playing bocce ball. Regretfully, we did not bring bathing suits, otherwise lounging poolside would have made the list too! We found the sitting rooms and shared spaces to be comfortable and welcoming. The Caldwell was actually bigger than expected, with a very comfy bed, linens, high end toiletries, and a gas fireplace. Even in the middle of summer, it was really nice to unwind for the evening next to the fire. Breakfast the next morning was, as we anticipated, delicious!

We didn't realize how close to Philly The Inn is, and quickly decided this will be a regular escape for us. Looking back on the cost now it's clear pricing is spot on for all that is offered. We cannot wait for our next weekend here!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Althea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

A friend of mine is getting married here in October so we decided to give this place a whirl for a quick overnight getaway. We arrived at the Inn a couple hours before check-in so we went over to the Tasting Room where we proceeded to spend $46 (including tip) on (1) glass of Sangria and the large cheese board. Though both were tasty, it was definitely not $46 worth! A menu was not offered to us showing costs of the “light fare” for purchase.

The front desk called to let us know our room was ready around 2pm, earlier than expected. We went up to the Master Bedroom to find a clean, well-maintained bedroom with an updated bathroom. Unfortunately, when we got to bed that night, we found that the mattress was incredibly uncomfortable, we could feel the springs almost poking through. Both my partner and I were up much of the night tossing and turning, and woke up with a sore lower back. For $300 per night, I was not anticipating a very old bed!

For breakfast they have decent options that are included in your stay (granola/yogurt, oatmeal bar, or frittata), as well as your more traditional breakfasts for purchase. We had the frittata, it wasn’t excellent but it was good.

The grounds were beautiful, and the pool was refreshing and relaxing. All in all, we did have a nice stay but think it’s over-priced for what you get.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jennr569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraceWinery, Manager at The Inn at Grace Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hello Jenn,
Thank you for your feedback as we always like to hear how we can improve. We wish you would have mentioned your concerns while you were staying. If you would like to discuss​ them further please feel free to reach out to the team.

We hope you will join us again.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

I remember stumbling across the Inn's webpage, looking at the photos and thinking "no way" - I couldn't imagine that such a place existed. However, after spending three nights at the Inn - loving every minute - I can assure you it's even better than it looks on line. The Inn itself is in a gorgeous historic building - 150 years old or so - and a collection of outbuildings offering larger accommodations. The most beautiful structure is an old ice house (with the original trapdoor in the floor intact) built into the ground 15 yards from the main Inn and now used as an office; this building could easily fit in a Hobbit or Harry Potter movie - whimsical, cute, oddly sized. The grounds on which the Inn at its working vineyard and production area are situated are just gorgeous. We loved nothing more than sitting on the back porch, or in the fire pit area, watching the horse, goats and donkeys during their evening activities. It was so peaceful and so disconnected from our hectic lives - just a wonderful experience. There was plenty of wood for the fire pit and eventually we were joined by other guests who wanted to roast some 'smores. The inside rooms are cool and classy and chock-a-block full of fascinating historic memorabilia. The billiards table was fun to use - as was the bocce ball court (we were newbies but found it to be a lot of fun). I used the golf chipping range one morning and there was also a frisbee golf course.

Unlike MANY other Inns/B&Bs in this category, a real differentiator for Grace Winery is that it is clearly not starved for capital. It was obvious that substantial investments had been made in key systems (electricity, plumbing and especially air conditioning in an old house are always major challenges) and made for an "all the comforts of home" experience. As an example, the AC in our room (the Inn's main building) was a "high velocity" system in which small conduit-sized ducts force cold, dehumidified air into a room. During a series of very warm summer days, our room was always perfectly cool and refreshing. Our bathroom had undergone a gut renovation at some point and all the fixtures and treatments were high-end.

The swimming pool and hot tub were both refreshing to use and we thoroughly enjoyed walking the perimeter of the grounds to greet the alpacas, the horse, goats and donkeys.

Finally, the breakfasts were superb - the care and expertise of food preparation really stood out. I was shocked just how good plain old hash browns and pancakes could be when made by an actual chef. Yum!

The Inn was really a piece of paradise - Shangri-La in a crazy world. We can't wait to cook up an excuse to go back.

Room tip: Every room is incredible.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMeadowsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraceWinery, General Manager at The Inn at Grace Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for your kind words. It's truly heartwarming to hear that our special place means so much to those who visit us. We hope you will join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

This was our first time staying at the Grace and it was everything we expected and more. The staff are top notch. Alex at the Front desk greeted us with a smile. She had us set up and in our room in no time. After getting settled we opened a fresh bottle of wine and enjoyed the sofas on the back patio taking in the beautiful view. Rachel, the event coordinator, stopped by with her new puppy (yes they are dog friendly) to share some great stories. We worked our way down to the winery where we sampled some of their top wines. (I would recommend bringing some home). Then off to dinner at Terrain at Styers, Also very good.

Our night ended with a crackiling fire in field enjoying gazing at the stars and the fresh air.

Next morning, Chef Scott prepared a very tasty breakfast with fresh fruit, bread and local eggs. We enjoyed some coffee on the patio, walked through the vineyard and stopped to see the animals.

The Manager Liz came over to check in to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

We are absolutely going back (probably next weekend).

The staff are kind and attentive to your needs, the facility is beautiful and the views are breathtaking.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marc f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraceWinery, General Manager at The Inn at Grace Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Marc,
Thank you for your kind words. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourselves and hope that you join us again soon.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews