We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family park”

Waldameer Park & Water World
Ranked #2 of 60 things to do in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Give your family all the fun and excitement of more than 75 great attractions at Waldameer. You'll find thrilling rides and family classics, plus some awesome rides for the little ones! Then there's Water World, a whole waterpark full of wet n’ wild fun for everyone.Plus, check out challenging midway games, tasty summertime foods and enjoy great free entertainment with 3 musical shows daily at our Showtime Theatre.Waldameer & Water World is a family-owned and family-friendly – we are proud of our Park’s major expansion in recent years, which has only improved upon the park’s long rich history of providing safe, clean and affordable summertime fun!
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice family park”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We took our 18 month old son here for vacation. The park is not huge but perfect for families. The water park seemed nice although we didn't spend too much time here as our son was afraid of the water. Food is average and pricy, just like any other amusement park. Wish they would put a few more kiddie rides in. We packed lunches and ate at the picnic tables near the entrance. Highly recommend you do this as it is cheaper and gives everyone a break in the shade.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank steelersgal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    211
    70
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashtabula OH
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“picnics and more”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

an old fashioned park that has free admission. YOu pay for the rides you want. Some old classics along with modern roller coasters. It is a true family park on the shore of Lake Erie. There is lots of shad and benches for relaxing and watching people. Young and old have a great time here.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lifesabeach39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family fun and scenic!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Enjoy amusement parks, but not true enthusiasts; however would return to Walameer again and again! It was fun, clean, inexpensive compared to many parks, and truly a sight to see on the shores of Lake Erie!

Helpful?
2 Thank Roadtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family fun on Presque Isle”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our family goes to Waldameer once a year. Once is about all we can handle, having four young children, but it is definitely one of the highlights of our summer. Ticket prices are reasonable, especially if you purchase the combo for both parks. The kids could easily spend all day in the lazy river, but it's usually so crowded that I usher them out after a couple go rounds. The rides in the park get better with each new addition. Last year my oldest (eight years old), persuaded me to go with her on the X-Scream... I have been to big theme parks and ridden some big rollercoasters and I love them... but this was almost enough to make me wet my pants. It was so much fun I had to convince my husband to go on it and did it a second time! There's typical carnival food and arcade games, and we always have a fantastic time. We leave absolutely exhausted and usually sweaty and slightly sunburned, but ALWAYS smiling. What a great attraction to have in our little town!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank JKCfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A World Class Wooden Coaster right in Erie”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This park is fantastic and reminiscent of great old parks that would pop up around the country. Admission is free - you just purchase tickets or an all day ride pass. There's also a fairly good waterpark which I usually skip.

We come here every 4th of July - the lines are never bad and the fireworks are launched right above the park. Their fireworks are consistently some of the best I've seen for 4th of July. The park also has great small rides, a chair lift (which can be rare at parks now) and a fun old wacky shack type ride.

But the best part of this park is it's top rated wooden roller coaster - Ravine Flyer II. It consistently rates among the top ten in the country, and while not incredibly high or fast, it's fairly extreme for a small park in Erie. The coaster drops in and out of a ravine, has great views of the lake, and flies over the expressway even. Makes a trip to this park worth it just for the coaster.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ark18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waldameer Park & Water World also viewed

 

Been to Waldameer Park & Water World? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing