We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will try again ”
Review of The Meating House

The Meating House
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Drums
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A unique steakhouse with "Old World" charm and comfort. We offer a full bar with a Call liquor well and popular microbrews available.
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have been here a few times food is always good however I feel there isn't a lot of consistency with the food portions. I had the English style fish and chips delicious fish and very generous portion- but about 10 french fries. My husband had the Atlantic fisherman and the portion was painfully small but delicious. (He was very thankful for the extra rolls). Perhaps a few more options in the beer department and a current beer list would be nice too. It is truly a charming place and will try it again.

Thank mmelissa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CURTIS L, Owner at The Meating House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for your recent review; more importantly thank you for your present and future business. We do use high quality affordable seafood but our pricing structure of the Tap Room menu is to keep portions at an affordable price. Larger portions are available on our Dining Room menu but they come with a differing price structure.But, I do agree with you that we need an available beer menu" draft and bottle" thanks for your input!!! Our family looks forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2017

visited here for the 1st time with another couple. our server was great, very personable and helpful with recommendations, she knew about everything on the menu. service was well paced, each diner was happy with their meal. i had the ny strip, done to perfection, the other 3 had beef and reef, a filet mignon and a crabcake and everyone enjoyed their meal. will definately return

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tutter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Never had a bad meal! Staff is always nice and pleasant. Food is delicious! Definitely a family favorite stop for dinner.

Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CURTIS L, Owner at The Meating House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thanks for your review. Our family appreciates your family business.Hope to see you again soon!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Unbiased review from a Berwick resident- My wife found the ad from a local magazine and when I looked at the reviews was cautious about making a reservation. Most were very good but a few were not so.
MY EXPERIENCE: Arrived at 6P Saturday evening. Waited about 3 minutes for a waitress. Drinks at the table with-in 3 minutes. Appetizers came out with-in 15 minutes (lamb lollipops and shrimp), excellent by the way. Then the salad within another 15 minutes and it was excellent as well. Then nice hot rolls came out. The waitress was awesome, always ensured we were taken care of. We did wait about 20- 30 minutes for our main course after all the courses- but it was WELL worth the wait- my wife and I frequent restaurants a lot and this may be the best meal we have had in 6 months. Price, there were items from$15-36, for the specialty items that we had it was well worth it. Atmosphere/Decor- NOT outdated at all, sort of country, very clean, mood lighting, relaxing dinner music. Clean. Sat next to a fireplace which was nice because it was dreary and raining out. The table layout wasn't any different than Main street, Apple-bee's or the crackle-barrel. I am 6'2" and sat a smaller table for 2 for 2 hours and there as no problem.
We are a couple in our late 50's and my wife commented on the way home how nice it was to spend 2 hours talking during a pleasant and delicious "dinner experience". I believe some of the reviews are based on typical restaurant experiences today which are go in, get your food rather quickly, and when your finished leave. Will go again soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slusser77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CURTIS L, Owner at The Meating House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you for your recent complimentary review. Our family team appreciates customers
who can enjoy themselves and review their experience honestly!!!Thanks for your business, we hope to serve you again for all your dining out needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The Meating House Restaurant is done in old wood stained booths and walls. There is a bar area and an eating area. The food was very good and reasonably priced. It has a nice atmosphere.

Thank Coreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CURTIS L, Owner at The Meating House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Thank you for your recent review. Hope to see you again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Meating House also viewed

West Hazleton, Luzerne County
West Hazleton, Luzerne County
 

Been to The Meating House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing