We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible cabin and experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Star Gaze The Night Away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Star Gaze The Night Away
Remote Cabin for Your Pleasure Walking Path to Star Gazing Field
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Star Gaze The Night Away
Remote Cabin for Your Pleasure
Walking Path to Star Gazing Field
Relax, Renew, Recharge & Reconnect with Family and Friends
Full and Complete Kitchen for home cooking.
Local Wildlife
The Keeping Room
Bedroom
Rustic Interior
Welcome
Star GAze the night away from your 10 acre star gazing field
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coudersport, Potter County, Pennsylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tmkeagy
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible cabin and experience ”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have visited twice. Both times, Chis and Kate made it very easy to book the cabin. Their Handy Man, Bob is very helpful, flexible, and accommodating when arranging your check-in.

The cabin is tucked away on top of a long dirt road which adds to the adventure. Once inside, you will instantly fall in love with this place. It is super clean, well appointed and has all that you will need to enjoy your stay.

We went to visit Cherry Springs State Park but I will share that the stars are just as great from their 10 acre lot!

For those of you who need to unplug and get away from it all, don't wait and book this perfect mountain getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Welcome back and thank you. I will pass you kind words onto our home cleaners as I believe they are the best in the business. Our 10 acre star gazing field shares the same dark skies as Cherry Springs State Park which makes Blue Skies Cabin so special for your star gazing. We hope to see you soon. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pantone29...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, beautiful, everything we hoped for and more”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a weekend at Blue Skies Lodge and I can't say enough positive things about it -- not even a day of freezing rain and cloudy skies could spoil the peace, beauty and coziness of this property. Chris and Kate were extremely flexible, responsive, and helpful throughout the rental process, and "The World's Best Handyman" Bob Anderson was a wonderful help and guide as we arrived after dark. The photos don't do the house justice -- it is beautiful, well-equipped, and was cozy enough for a couple but spacious enough for a group of friends. The property and especially the observation field were the highlight of the stay -- wonderful views, plenty of walking trails, and no neighbors in sight. We had one clear night, and the stars were as amazing as advertised. If you're looking for a bit of civilization, the town of Coudersport was a quick drive and had delicious, inexpensive food options and incredibly friendly people.

We quickly realized we needed a lot more than a weekend to explore the surrounding area, and are hoping to return to see some of the other seasons. We did a lot of research on the lodging options in the area before our trip, but no more -- this will be our first and only choice for as long as Chris and Kate are willing to share!

Last tips --
-The rental agreement warns about needing 4WD in the winter months to make it up the private driveway -- listen to them! It was no problem in an SUV but I would be careful even in a heavy rain if you don't have 4WD. Our friends ended up having to hike up after an unusually bad ice storm -- it's steep, but short enough that a fit person could do it if necessary.
-If anyone is hesitant about being totally unplugged, Verizon phone users, you should have a tiny bit of reception for text messages -- just enough for emergencies, not enough to interrupt the relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you for your positive comments about the Cabin and the property. It's great comments like these that inspire my wife and I to provide unique cabins for our guests. We are happy you had a chance to see the amazing stars, they are quite a sight. Come back anytime you wish, we'll save you a date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ideal escape”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

An incredibly well-appointed, clean, and comfortable cabin for relaxing, stargazing, or hiking. The owners obviously take great pride in providing the perfect getaway with everything you would need to de-stress and enjoy the natural environment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy bed
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geyerde
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We could live here”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend with family. It was a very peaceful and relaxing weekend getaway. The cabin was very clean and modern. We enjoyed relaxing around the fire at night. Firewood is not supplied but we brought plenty from home. There's plenty to do in the surrounding area. We loved the peace and remoteness of the area. It's like a dream home tucked away in the woods.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rkatiba
Troy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Girls Weekend Get Away”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We went up to Coudersport for a girls weekend getaway. We were going to Cherry Springs State Park for some star gazing. The lodge is beautiful. There was a lot of space for the 5 of us. The living room and bar area was great to hang out in at night and led out to a wrap around deck. The kitchen had all the utensils we needed and the big table was perfect to eat at. The place was nicely furnished and very clean. The adjoining field is huge and the view is fantastic, especially at night. We went to the PA Grand Canyon while we were there and it was beautiful. I would give this 5 stars if 2 things were improved: 1. there needs to be a railing for the stairs in the house, especially for older individuals 2. the drive up to the house is a bit daunting, especially in a minivan. There were a lot of ruts in the road and we bottomed out a lot. More dirt or gravel is needed to even that drive out.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our cabin. We pride ourselves in making it as easy as possible for our guests to enjoy their getaway time. The 10 acre star gazing field is an awesome place to star gaze without leaving the property as you found out. The driveway is an uphill hike from the road and has had some recent work on it that was designed to shed the water off of the driveway and prevent wash out. It is an ongoing project for our remote cabin. Thank you for your compliments on our cleanliness. Our housekeeper is one of the best in the area and we value her highly. Also, glad you got to see the Pa Grand Canyon. It is one of the best natural places in Pa. Again, thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing