We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Columbia B&B and Inns
Manasquan, New Jersey
2 reviews
“We will return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

1/14/2012 We enjoyed our stay at the Columbian! A quaint B & B, clean and most accomedating. Karen was a wonderful host! Very easy to talk with-she made us feel right at home. She also prepared an excellent brreakfast. We visit York Pa each January, and we will make the Columbian part of our weekend get-a-way package again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed Friday and Saturday for a wedding at a local winery. We were attracted to it as we drove through Columbia, PA, so we made reservations (all four rooms) for the wedding. The overall experience (accommodations, food, common areas, backyard, the dogs (Merle/Layla) was excellent. We plan on going back when we visit the Amish area, since the roads and distances to destinations were excellent. I second ManishMM's comments. Breakfast was EXCELLENT!!! The owner was superb and she even accommodated my "nut" allergy is the breakfast she served. As I said before we will be back.

Room Tip: Any room they choose is wonderful. There is only one suite. But all the rooms are at least queen bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotting-Grammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Our family chose to stay at the Columbian because of its close proximity to PA Amish country (about 20 minutes away). The Columbian is a tremendous value especially when compared to the more expensive motels/inns just slightly closer than this. The property is a classy, historic inn that is also up-to-date in providing modern conveniences and comforts. We were incredibly impressed with the size and comfort of our room (the Bucher Suite) - the pictures online cannot convey the attention to detail and creature comforts. By far, one of the best reasons to stay here is Innkeeper Karen. The personalized attention that she brought to our stay was unlike anything I've experienced at any other B&B. We stayed mid-week, when it was not busy, and got a fresh, homemade hot breakfast each morning, that took into account our personal preferences and dietary restrictions. New to the area, we did not know how to kick off our visit to the Amish country, and Karen quickly developed a written sight-seeing plan (with driving directions) for us - we were able to see some great things from the perspective of a local resident because of this. Finally, a lot of B&Bs do not welcome children. We stayed here with our well-behaved 4 month old son, and he was not only welcome but doted on. A beautiful, historic inn, run by one of the best Innkeepers I've ever met. High marks and high recommendations all around!

Room Tip: Book the Bucher Suite - worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

We had a relaxing stay at the beautiful Columbian. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a balcony overlooking a charming backyard koi pond and fountain. There were many thoughtful touches -- like complimentary water and soda -- and breakfast was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enthusiastical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

The best B & B I've stayed in. Beautiful old house and very nicely decorated. Quiet, comfortable rooms with lots of extras (wine, chocolates). Breakfast was EXCELLENT!
Owner is a sweetheart.

Room Tip: Discount to those attending horology class -NWACC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGreener2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
4.8 km away
Comfort Inn Lancaster County
6.7 km away
MainStay Suites of Lancaster County
7.0 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lancaster County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#20 of 38 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
18.4 km away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
4.1 km away
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 360 Chestnut St, Columbia, PA 17512-1156
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,583 - ₹ 8,184
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing