We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value, tremendous hospitality!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Columbia B&B and Inns
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb value, tremendous hospitality!”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Our family chose to stay at the Columbian because of its close proximity to PA Amish country (about 20 minutes away). The Columbian is a tremendous value especially when compared to the more expensive motels/inns just slightly closer than this. The property is a classy, historic inn that is also up-to-date in providing modern conveniences and comforts. We were incredibly impressed with the size and comfort of our room (the Bucher Suite) - the pictures online cannot convey the attention to detail and creature comforts. By far, one of the best reasons to stay here is Innkeeper Karen. The personalized attention that she brought to our stay was unlike anything I've experienced at any other B&B. We stayed mid-week, when it was not busy, and got a fresh, homemade hot breakfast each morning, that took into account our personal preferences and dietary restrictions. New to the area, we did not know how to kick off our visit to the Amish country, and Karen quickly developed a written sight-seeing plan (with driving directions) for us - we were able to see some great things from the perspective of a local resident because of this. Finally, a lot of B&Bs do not welcome children. We stayed here with our well-behaved 4 month old son, and he was not only welcome but doted on. A beautiful, historic inn, run by one of the best Innkeepers I've ever met. High marks and high recommendations all around!

Room Tip: Book the Bucher Suite - worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We had a relaxing stay at the beautiful Columbian. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a balcony overlooking a charming backyard koi pond and fountain. There were many thoughtful touches -- like complimentary water and soda -- and breakfast was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enthusiastical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The best B & B I've stayed in. Beautiful old house and very nicely decorated. Quiet, comfortable rooms with lots of extras (wine, chocolates). Breakfast was EXCELLENT!
Owner is a sweetheart.

Room Tip: Discount to those attending horology class -NWACC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGreener2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

we decided to do an antiquing weekend in Columbia and stay at the Columbian Inn. the inn keeper was very nice and accomodating and showed us around the house while checking in. we had the Butcher Suite, which was gorgeous. there were several small details that made it a great place - a small bottle of wine and chocolates provided in the room. an area with complimentary soda/water/crackers for the late night munchies. the price is very reasonable considering how nice the rooms are. the house itself is gorgeous as well. only detraction cannot be helped - there is some noisy traffic from people at the gas station next door. there is a privacy fence up so they have done what they can. overall, a wonderful experience. i'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenflower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Beautiful accomodations. The Inn is a historic building with all the victorian charm, but all the modern amenities. The food was wonderful and the innkeeper lovely. This was our second stay and will definitely stay there again. The town of Columbia is beautiful - beautiful to walk around and the Inn is just a short walk to the Susquehanna River.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kkhowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
4.7 km away
Comfort Inn Lancaster County
7.0 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lancaster County
6.7 km away
MainStay Suites of Lancaster County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
939 reviews
19.2 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
10.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 360 Chestnut St, Columbia, PA 17512-1156
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,496 - ₹ 8,028
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing